Lifehack logo

Life, lemons, and a little lemonade.

How we're crushing debt one day at a time...

By HutchPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Wow! Lets just start there. It's been a whirlwind of years between 2019 and the start of 2020. My husband quit his job and started a new position elsewhere. I went a month without health insurance and had some health issues that rang up some bills. My dog needed TPLO surgery (ACL surgery), I had an accident with my car, my hubs has had his fair share of health issues and here we are still paying for our regular necessities.

So how are we paying off our debts? Cars? Student loan? Dog bills? Medical bills? We're doing a multitude of things and so can you!

1. We're saving money on gas! Yes we said it! Saving money on gas, but how? We both drive to work. Separate cars. He drives an hour and I drive 25 minutes. We both drive SUVs. Here's how...

We literally just claim our offer of a nearby gas station, upload a picture of our receipt when we're done and BAM we have money into our accounts and can be paid when we choose to take it out! They give you the option to get gift cards to restaurants too! It's pretty awesome in my opinion.

2. We're Thred Up-ing :)

I'm literally cleaning out the closets and sending my clothes to this amazing company that doesn't charge shipping and literally will recycle my clothes that I don't want. It's genius really. I'm sending in my first bag as I hit submit on this piece. My best friend just made $40 off her first bag of clothes she didn't even want anymore! It's a win-win. You clean out. You get money.

3. We're scanning our receipts. Yup. All and any.

It's so simple with ibotta and FetchRewards to literally earn money back! All you do in ibotta is pick what you need at the store, scan your receipt when you're done, and bam money is there. You can cash out once you reach a certain point ($20-25). Fetch is easy and you earn points for anyone who signs under you! Here's the links to these!

4. We're saving our bottles and returning once we have a huge amount. We're also collecting all our change and rolling it once we're ready to go. It's amazing how quickly it adds up!

We're also using Survey Junkie and Inbox Dollars to earn a little side cash easily. I've earned $15 from just taking random surveys on Survey Junkie and another $11 from Inbox Dollars. I haven't been doing them as often as I could be though! Some people make $100 off of these sites.

5. We're following Dave Ramsey's Debt Snowball and starting small then working our way up or down...however you want to spin it.

Life kinda hit us hard over the past six months and we're trying to work our way through it one day at a time.

Just know that if you're also experiencing this, you're not alone. It's not easy and this is not for the faint of heart. Trust me, hubs and I have not had very happy talks at times and there's been many tears. However, if you're married it's all about being a team and if you're not... then it's not being afraid to punch debt in the face and ask for help when needed. There's plenty of jobs out there that will work with you or allow you to work on your own terms. Take advantage of what you have available to you! It's worth it, I promise.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Hutch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.