Lifehack logo

Julian Brand Brings You Some Actors Who Like Mid-Century Interior Designs

Julian Brand has worked with a lot of actors and he had to check a lot of other actors’ homes to get some inspiration; Here’s what he learned about some of them

By Julian BrandPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Actors are smart, talented, good-looking, and most importantly, they are visionaries and have a keen eye for beauty and aesthetics. Many actors choose different types of interior designs for their homes and I, Julian Brand, am no stranger to their needs and choices. Living in Los Angeles, California, I’ve dealt with a plethora of actors and have even worked for them. Creating masterpieces for them was what earned me the good name I’ve created for myself.

In order to work for actors, I had to take some inspiration from actors. So, in order to do that, I checked out the houses of some of the biggest actors in the industry. What I found out was somewhat surprising. Most of these actors were more fond of mid-century interior designs than other types of interior designs. So, I decided to make a post about some actors who are 100% down with the mid-century interior designing style. The first up on the list is...

Leonardo DiCaprio

Alright, I know what you’re thinking, “there’s no way Julian Brand met The Wolf Of Wall Street actor, Leonardo Dicaprio”. I definitely did… no, I didn’t *frowns*. Well, that’s not the point here. The point to notice is that Leonardo DiCaprio definitely has a distinct taste for mid-century interior design. I took a lot of inspiration from his living room design and oh boy, the art I was able to create was impeccable. DiCaprio’s house is a mid-century style wonder and it really suits an actor of his stature. Ahhh… how I would do anything to have some coffee with him in his aesthetically pleasing living room. Well, some things just remain a dream, I guess *frowns again*.

Selena Gomez

Selena Gomez’s home looks exactly like what her personality reflects. It’s subtle but not too subtle and ravishing but not too ravishing. Most importantly, just like Leonardo, Selena also has a mid-century theme interior design in her house. Looking at Gomez’s house, you can only do one thing, look at it in awe. The jaw-dropping house gives such a soothing vibe that you’ll feel like you can be in that house for a long time and still not get over the sheer beauty of the place. I got so inspired by the design of her house that I created a number of different mid-century designs.

Zac Efron

The High School Musical actor Zac Efron is no stranger to exquisite mid-century interior designs. His living room looks like an extremely soothing place with cool blue lighting over one side. The living room is connected with the dining area and the kitchen and it all just looks so aesthetic. Zac Efron’s house looks like a dream house every person would have in mind. So, I took some inspiration from his house too, and got to work on creating some custom mid-century interior designs myself. I have to say, the actors I worked for with this design as inspiration were very pleased with the results.

Aisha Tyler

This woman is an actress, director, author, game-show host, comedian, producer, and talk-show host. She’s a multitasker and a true beacon for women’s empowerment and feminism. So, it’s understandable that her house would be a place that makes a statement and acts as a sheer status symbol. Most of us (well, me at least) first saw her in the hit sitcom F.R.I.E.N.D.S playing the role of Ross’s (played by actor David Schwimmer) girlfriend for a few episodes. And who can talk about Aisha Tyler without mentioning “Whose Line Is It Anyway”? Her house is a place that sings mid-century design and inspired me for a lot of my work done for actors.

Jamie Dornan

The 50 Shades Series lead actor Jamie Dornan is a heartthrob for ladies all over the world. Well, his house is a heartthrob for interior designers like me everywhere. I mean, just look at the eye-catching yet kinda sober designs of the walls. This place just makes you wanna enter this house and never leave the place. This was actually the first actor house ever that inspired me to create a new design for my own house, and I have to say, that was not a bad decision at all. Of course, I also created some designs for my clients as well, and they absolutely loved the work.

Eva Mendes

I saved the best for the last. Eva Mendes’ house is such a beautiful place filled with aesthetic mid-century-themed designs that any mid-century style enthusiast (such as me) will fall in love with the place. From the outdoors of the house to the indoors, it’s just a beautiful place that just leaves you in awe. This house has been my biggest inspiration to date when it comes to mid-century designs. The work I’ve done with this as an inspiration is some of my best works yet.

house
Like

About the Creator

Julian Brand

Julian Brand is an interior designer from LA (The City of actors) who completed his interior designing course at Florida State University in 2015. Being in the field for around 5 years, he has made quite a name for himself. Know More

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.