Lifehack logo

I Used These 4 Pillars of Health to Improve My Life

You can do it too

By Rejoice DenherePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
I Used These 4 Pillars of Health to Improve My Life
Photo by Olia Nayda on Unsplash

1. Meditation

I was always wary of meditation. This was largely due to my ignorance of the practice. Visions of sitting in the lotus position while humming did not appeal to me very much.

It was after repeatedly hearing about the benefits of meditation that I decided to give it a go. The deal breaker was reading about how a group of young football players and their coach has survived the horrendous ordeal of being stuck in a cave through meditation.

How It Improved My Life

I now see meditation like housekeeping. If you want to keep your house clean, germ-free, and be able to find things easily there has to be order. You have to clean the house daily, put items in their rightful place and throw away what no longer serves you.

Meditation is my spiritual equivalent of daily housekeeping. It helps me think clearly, stay calm (even when all hell is breaking lose), and I sleep better.

2. Exercise

A friend once said to me, “If you skip a stage in life, it will catch up with you later.”

I don’t know what evidence she based her comment on but I remembered it when it came true for me.

I was never keen on exercise during my school days. I did what I had to because it was expected of us. As soon as the uniform came off, so did the appetite for exercise.

Fast forward a many years later, and I made a conscious decision to exercise regularly. I was amazed at the benefits. I tried yoga and running. Running is my favourite because it also allows me to think. It helps me process complex emotions.

Yoga is still work in progress. The tremendous benefits are that it is like giving yourself a deep tissue massage.

How It Improved My Life

Life throws curveballs when you least expect them. Exercising has helped me navigate stormy seas. It has also helped me stay fit.

3. Diet

When I was growing up, meal times were an important part of the day for my family. Dinner was at 6.00pm. We had a little brass bell that we would ring when dinner was served and everyone was expected to be seated by 6.00pm. The table was usually set about 30 minutes before dinner time.

Well, when I moved away from home that custom died and, with it, the habit of eating healthy balanced meals.

When I came to my senses, after a few health scares I remembered from whence I came. Switching to a healthier diet soon started paying benefits as I watched my health improve.

I later switched it up and became a vegan. I have not looked back since.

How It Improved My Life

Health is wealth. This is one of those truths you only appreciate when your health has gone down the drain.

Being healthy meand I spend little or nothing on medical care. That’s a huge saving right there.

With my new found health I was able to enjoy life more fully. I even took up running as a hobby. It has done wonders for my mental health and well-being.

4. Sleep

My sleep pattern changed after reading Hal Elrod’s book Miracle Morning. He talked about how he started his day early, and followed a set routine. He came up with a brilliant acronym — SAVERS — which stands for:

  • Silence
  • Affirmations
  • Visualisation
  • Exercise
  • Reading
  • Scribing

After reading the book I felt as if I had been wasting time all my life by failing to start my day early and following a set routine. I immediately repented of my errant ways and jumped on the bandwagon. I even joined thr 5am Club.

The good news is that my productivity soared. By the time the world woke up my day was half done. Infact, I went from not having enough hours to having lots of “day” at the end of my tasks.

How It Improved My Life

I regained control of my day. Working on important tasks early in the morning without interruption allowed me to focus and get in the flow state.

My new routine alsi enabled me to be proactive rather than reactive. As a result, I felt calmer and more positive.

What This Means for You

You can identify your own pillars upon which to build your life. They will help keep you grounded in challenging times. They will allow you to enjoy life to the fullest when the going is good.

I challenge you to identify at least four pillars. Work on them wholeheartedly and see how your life changes.

list
1

About the Creator

Rejoice Denhere

Lover of the written word, mother, and business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.