Lifehack logo

I took to writing to silence the lambs in my head!!

This year I forgot to make New Year resolutions in time and in turn decided to stop striving to be someone I could never be. I felt it’s time to embrace my messy, imperfect, soft bellied self and put my worst fears to good use. This is how I made peace with myself and learned to love negative emotions!!

By Sharat MisraPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image source: 'Seniors on bench images" in shutterstock.com

To me, penning thought and phrasing them is a messy affair. I wonder, if you are here only because you don’t know how to come up with your next story idea, and have scant respect for my writing skills. Maybe you just want something apropos, some inspiring thought for your next storyline. I wouldn’t know if my choice of words convince you enough to appreciate that I’m a borne writer.

Either way, let’s get it right!

If you are reading this, I know one thing for sure;

You are a ‘curious’ person! And in that my success is certain. Oddly, curiosity makes one smart enough to want to know more and understand better. It makes you dig around for answers to “Why?” and pushes you to keep hunting until you are satisfied!

We all have our share of bad days and like everything else; I think I too have had some poor articles, or essays or blogs!! For me though, writing never meant to be rude or shocking or like some spilled beans on paper. I have felt and always acted on the desire- to purge myself of what’s inside me so that someone like you will understand what I feel at this moment.

If only wishes were horses…

It’s hard to remember the last day, the last week or the last month when I laughed and found things intensely funny and rib tickling. When were those few hours that I wasn’t worried about something and enjoyed watching sunset or lying snug in warm quilt with a good book when it was raining outside on a wintry afternoon?

It’s kinda hard whenever it crossed me,” Like everything else, this too will end in a while”!

Perhaps, I ought to glue something more inviting on my PC; something that would say;

“I am more smart, strong and brave than I think I am. I am my hero with a golden heart”!!

See, it’s hard to learn about yourself from a distance, but maybe I have.

I wake up each morning and wonder what better could be there to write about. I read articles every day. I nose through pointless stories and try fitting in. I even look around for everything

that would fit me into the bar.

Aw-shucks! Who am I kidding?

I like it when my stories are read but I absolutely love it when you subscribe! I get goose bumps each time an eye finds my page. I stand witness to your curiosity, your humor and your intellect every time I get reviewed.

Did I get it right? Maybe I am brave enough to hold on to a faltering confidence!!

My writing caper has not done anything to fill my wallet so far. Like you I too want to prance around to a success with words. I am though, yet to establish myself as someone with something up his sleeves every time he dares to shine. I know I cannot survive on catchy phrases and snappy headlines only.

But then there is this nasty voice endlessly humming inside my brain…

I must write…I must write…!

Last night I dreamed… of that nasty hand again; reaching out for me and a muffled voice breezily saying; “Never mind, you will get a new cat,”!

Wishes communicating!... Hell no! I have no pet and so couldn’t make much of it. I though remember feeling untouched and used.

Is that 1628 Scottish proverb nothing more a nursery rhyme? Wouldn’t wishing something from your heart, could make it happen? Wouldn’t some falling star come to my rescue?

Yet I couldn’t resist writing and wishing …

I wish you to read what I have to say and give me the chance to shine and impress. I wish like everybody else you wouldn’t shut the window and run away. I wish to stand out with my content to an extent where people would hunt for my name and not for the headlines alone.

I wish you’d find me and read me till you drop.

For once I would feel happy and full!!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Sharat Misra

Hi! I am Sharat Misra from Lucknow India and a newbie to Vocal. Boisterous and free-spirited, I luv to write about relationship, food, health, life and everything that is awe-inspiring.

Welcome to my space. Together we shall make it big!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.