Lifehack logo

I Smoked Chocolate Cigarettes With Style

And I enjoyed it

By EdgarHuitemaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Jaroslav Devia on Unsplash

It was early in the morning, my mum and dad were fast asleep, and I was on a mission.

The evening before, my two brothers and I had stuck three carrots snuggly into our shoes (one each). We also had sung our socks off. Surely, our loud shrieks had been heard?!? Tradition dictated that I should. I had been good all year (I was convinced) and all preparations were made when our singing had concluded.

I made my way downstairs in whisper mode, looking to find out the gift left in my shoe. Both to my dismay and relief, I found both my equally sneaky brothers downstairs, helping themselves to the treasure they found in their shoes.

Chocolate cigarettes!

The box very much looks like a real pack of cigarettes (minus the health warning). When you open it, you will find cigarettes that are made with paper wrappers filled with chocolate.

My brothers duly ravaged their pack of cigarettes, evidenced by the wrappers spread around the living room floor. Breakfast was still some time away and their appetite had gotten in the way of smoking these chocolate delights the right way. I was about to show them.

Now, how do you smoke a chocolate cigarette with style? Here is some guidance that will help you smoke your chocolate cigarettes as it matters (accurate as of 1980's).

  • You open the pack, casually, and slightly tip it over. Gently, but with some swagger, you tap the pack onto the palm of your hand until a couple of cigarettes stick out. One cigarette must stick out from the rest.
  • You grab one of the cigarettes with your lips. Make sure your lips are slightly moist so that the choc cigarette sticks. It will allow you to grab one quite easily if you have your mouth slightly ajar. Obviously, it would be best if you made sure that one cigarette sticks out, not all twelve. I suspect my brothers got it wrong there. Don’t use your tongue for grabbing. It’s gross and doesn’t work.
  • Once you have your cigarette firmly into your mouth, you can start to ‘smoke’ it. There are various ways of doing this. The best approach (in my humble opinion ) is to let the chocolate melt a bit (it will) and gently suck the chocolate out. Don’t chew the cigarette unless you wish to chew on a ball of paper.
  • Every once in a while, bite off the bit of paper and roll it up with your tong into a tiny ball (casually holding the cigarette between your fingers). Blow those little paper balls out of your mouth. If you don’t care at all, feel free to shoot it at your siblings. Mind the parents, though! They may not like the end result.
  • Personal Tip: To be the coolest kid in the living room, I always aimed the paper balls at the ashtray my dad was using.

    My brothers were either in awe or keen to have my cigarettes with their stares fixed on my half-empty pack. You can imagine how satisfied I was for my dad to see me lounging on the sofa, as he came down the stairs and smiled.

    I was smoking my chocolate cigarette in style as he reached for the ashtray.

    food
    Like

    About the Creator

    EdgarHuitema

    EdgarHuitema is a scientist who loves to write. Writing personal, political as well as satirical pieces to deal with mental health as well as societal issues. For more Edgy-Edgar work visit: https://medium.com/@tiktaalik4u

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.