Lifehack logo

I Love Knitting

No, I'm not a grandma! Here's why I'm super happy I got into knitting in my 20s.

By Kasey ColliganPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

My mom started knitting about a year ago. She makes hats. Lots and lots and lots of hats. She kept saying she "wants something to do in her retirement." Sure mom, sounds great. I’d roll my eyes, jokingly call her a grandma, and go back to whatever I was doing.

And then I picked up some needles of my own.

My first project was bad... like... embarrassingly bad. It’s a "scarf" that is only ever worn by the dog now. But I kept with it, and as of today, I've knit several baby blankets, a few sweaters, and a shawl! I'm happy I stuck with it and that I got into it in my 20s.

Skeptical about knitting? Here's why I like it and you might too!

1. It keeps the hands busy.

Knitting and (K)Netflix has become a great unwinding ritual for me. Whenever I need to relax, I turn on one of my favorite shows and pull out a simple project. It keeps my hands busy without falling victim to the endless scroll.

2. It's super productive.

Even though it can take a while, you can actually make things! Finishing my first sweater took forever, but I was so happy and so proud when I finally seamed the sleeves together! It's so fun to watch your project grow, and it's an amazing feeling when it's finally all done.

3. It can be a brain bender.

I haven't tried yet, but my roommate recently got into knitting socks! And since it's a little more complicated than just knits and purls, she really has to pay attention. Knitting can really challenge your brain as you try to grasp these new skills! (But don’t get discouraged if you don’t get the hang of it right away. You have to make a few ugly projects before they come out nice).

4. You can control your own fashion.

I am the queen of the knit sweater in the fall & winter. I love a comfy knit sweater, and I seriously wear one almost every cold day. And now I can make my own! I can pick my favorite yarn, in a color I want, and make a sweater that actually FITS me. And, an extra fun bonus comes when people ask you where you bought something and you get to tell them that you made it!

5. Gift giving just got a whole lot easier.

Seriously, since I started knitting, I just turn yarn into gifts! I've made dish towels, throw pillows, hats, scarves, and even a sweater to give as gifts! And the truth is, I've never seen people enjoy and appreciate a gift more than handmade ones! Plus, there is nothing like seeing someone wear something you made! It feels really good.

6. There are so many knitting projects out there.

If you pick up knitting you will NEVER run out of things to do. If you go on Pinterest or Ravelry, you will find THOUSANDS of knitting projects. I think I have about a hundred sweaters saved on my Pinterest. I’m glad I started in my 20s so I have plenty of time in my life to make them all.

7. Maker friends are the best friends.

Since I started knitting I have followed a lot of communities on Instagram (try @weareknitters @woolandthegang and @ourmakerlife to start!). Joining these communities has connected me with many makers from all over and all these makers are fun, positive, creative, supportive people.

There has never been a better time to join the knitting world! Go pick up some needles and yarn today! You will definitely be happy you did!

crafts
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.