Lifehack logo

How To Say No

75 Ways You Can Say No!

By Samantha De YarmanPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

We all know somebody who never takes no for an answer. Or, maybe you're just not that great at saying no. Below are 75 different ways you can say no, ranging from polite for your boss to firmly declining for that telemarketer to mildly offensive when that jerk on the street won't leave you alone.

Polite

1. “No, thank you.”

2. “I’m flattered, really, but I’m going to have to decline.”

3. “Thank you, but I’ll have to pass.”

4. “No, thanks.”

5. “Thanks, but no thanks.”

6. "No."

7. "Thanks, but I'm not really interested."

8. "That's a negative."

9. "Nope."

10. "I am disinclined to acquiesce to your request."

Less Polite

11. "Absolutely not."

12. "Nah."

13. "Uh-uh."

14. "No dice."

15. "Not in the cards."

16. "N to the O."

17. "No can do."

18. "Of course not."

19. "Out of the question."

20. "I'm good, thanks."

21. "I'd rather not."

22. "No way."

23. "Maybe I'm not being clear enough: NO."

24. "I’m going to have to exert my ‘NO’ muscle on this one."

25. "I have a policy of saying no to (insert thing/person) or on (insert day/holiday)."

"Not Now."

26. "Not now."

27. "Not at this time."

28. "Rain check."

29. "Perhaps another time."

30. "I can't today."

31. "Not at this moment."

32. "Not right now."

33. "Not today."

34. "Maybe later."

35. "Maybe another time."

36. "It's really bad timing."

37. "Another day/time."

38. "Later would be better for me."

39. "I have to do (insert errand/chore) right now."

40. "I can't, I have to help my (insert relative/friend) do (insert activity)."

Rude

41. "Not on your life."

42. "It's a no from me."

43. "Fat chance."

44. "Slim chance."

45. "No chance."

46. "Not even considering it."

47. "Not in this lifetime."

48. "Or the next."

49. "No, no - a million times no!"

50. "Never."

51. "Not in a million years."

52. "You wish."

53. "In your dreams."

54. "Not even in your dreams!"

55. "Not on my life."

56. "What don't you understand about no?"

57. "Not even going to answer."

58. "When pigs fly."

59. "Not going to happen."

60. "You know, sometimes, I feel like I can do crystal meth and them I’m like eummmm better’d not."

Really Rude

61. "Piss off."

62. "No even if you were the last person on earth."

63. "Am I dead yet? There's your answer."

64. "When hell freezes over."

65. "I'd rather eat my own hand."

66. "I'd rather be pecked to death by a flock of humming birds."

67. "Go away."

68. "I'd rather clean all the bathrooms in Grand Central Station with my tongue."

69. "Don't you have anything better to do?"

70. "Was that the wind?"

71. "There's not enough alcohol in the world."

72. "You see, I would, but I just don't want to."

73. "Bye!"

74. "NOT in the mood."

75. "Don't talk to me."

how tolist
Like

About the Creator

Samantha De Yarman

They’re just words

I’m arranging in an order

And yet somehow

Nothing else is harder.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.