Lifehack logo

How to Pack Swift and Smart

A Method I Wish I Had Known Earlier!

By Melina NotidouPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Melina Notidou (Me) (Yes, my suitcase was a little damaged!)

Are you a last-minute packer? Or do you like to get packed nice and early?

I used to get packed well in advance of a trip (partly because my Mum would help me pack, especially when I was little), but now, I'm totally a last-minute packer. We're talking shutting-the-suitcase-before-going-to-the-airport packer.

However, I still like to be organised when getting ready for a trip!

As each trip came around, I developed a general packing list to help me get ready quickly, no matter where I was going. This method might seem obvious, but I had honestly never really done it until this past year.

So, today I'm going to give you a peek at how I pack. Hopefully, this gives you a little help with your own packing, too!

In my packing list, I like to split things into categories:

1. Clothes

I always pack my clothes first. I make sure to pack everything from underwear to hats. I typically make a list before I pack and tick off each item as I put it in my suitcase. If another item comes to mind, I still write it down and tick it off, so I remember what I've got!

2. Toiletries

All of my toiletries go into a fun-sized bag. Again, I tick each item off as I put it in. I've been in that situation where I haven't brought deodorant, or I've forgotten my toothbrush. I'm sure some of you have also been in this kind of situation, and you can totally avoid that with a packing list! Of course, you can buy any forgotten or extra stuff at your destination, but if you would rather not do that, a packing list will work perfectly for you.

3. Electronics

If you're packing any electronics on your journey, remember to have an adaptor for the country you're going to (if you need one)! If you're stopping off at a country with different adaptors to your final destination, try to get an adaptor for this country, too. It can be scary if your phone loses battery in an unknown place, and even scarier if you need your phone urgently.

4. Other Essentials

I developed this list for items that don't necessarily fit into a clear category. This list includes things like my house keys, my suitcase keys, my watch, some deodorant I can use in the airport and throw out if I have to, etc. These are often packed in last-minute, since they're going to be on my person during my journey.

5. Documents

My documents, including passports, IDs and boarding passes are also packed in last among all of my stuff. They are probably the most important part of the packing process. I always like to have them on my person and in a safe and secure place!

6. Entertainment

This category is definitely more of a preference thing. I like to have movies or a book on me in case I have a long drive ahead or a long layover for a flight. Plus, I would have them available during my holiday should I feel like using them. They definitely come in handy when you need to find ways to pass the time!

I wish I had used this packing method sooner. I like to be quick and organised, but I'm not sure if that would be possible for me without a list! Of course, everybody packs in their own way and at their own pace. You can keep your list and tweak it accordingly, which is what I do now depending on the destination I'm travelling to and what I'll need there. You can also add to your list if you've bought anything during your trip, such as souvenirs which will help you repack when you're returning home. That being said, I hope this method will help you in the packing process!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Melina Notidou

BA Hons Linguistics graduate with a hint of wanderlust.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.