Lifehack logo

How to make a habit that is great for your body and mind

One of the best and easiest things to do

By Ana ŠtimacPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Everyday walks bring something new and different to notice

Waves.

Where from? But it's winter!

And there is no sea nearby.

It is really fascinating how nature plays with itself, and even with us. Without nature there would be no life, no us, no children, no happiness or sadness.

No matter how much we run away from it to modern and fancy lifestyle, rushing to earn more, achieve more, have the fastest car and the biggest house, we always return to it sometime in life.

Someday, somehow we find our way back to the true meaning of life. And we find out what it truly means to be happy. Like being capable of taking a carefree walk through a flower meadow.

It’s no shock that we get so stressed all the time. The difference is the way we deal with it. At some point in our life we have to take a break from this lifestyle.

I’m just starting my career as a female engineer. Working that 9-5, just sitting there for 8 hours doesn’t feel great. Not for my body, not for my mind, my vitamin D deprivation. Despite the chaotic atmosphere in the offices, I find them to be so static and monotone.

So I go out of the house as much as I can.

When I was in college, after my lectures I would go to the cafe and watch the people and the cars on the street. They would flow together in this rhythmic way which gave me such a calming vibe.

At home I have a hyperenergetic dog that needs everyday walks, but I noticed that I needed them more. They’re so meditating.

Sometimes I get in a fight with my boyfriend or my mum (or my father when he was alive, but that's another story) and I just needed to get somewhere else to process my thoughts and emotions. It would always clear my mind.

To achieve this meditative state wasn't my intention at first, I just wanted to be alone. Luckily, I have a dog to walk everyday so I had an excuse.

The first part of the walks I would sometimes feel tired, annoyed or sad and wanted to just get it over with. Somewhere in the middle of the walk, the clearness would appear. Between all the sniffing and playing that my dog did, I would hear the birds sing, the cold breeze on my cheek, my heart would pump faster. I would feel alive!

That one walk, no matter if it was 5 minutes or an hour long, would completely change my mood and give me time to process whatever bothered me that day.

At this point the best thing is to just soak in all the energy of nature's elements (or the city flow - it can still do the job). And you would feel the vibe for the rest of the day.

As if nature is in some way a free psychiatrist for us (of course, not for all problems), but it certainly has a lot of benefits. Spending time in nature makes us happier. Walks help with weight loss and our memory. Our vitamin D supply improves, our stress is limited and we age less painfully.

Everyday walks bring something new and different to notice, or something old that was there for days, months or years, but we never paid attention to it.

Make it a habit to take at least a little walk every day. If you don't have a four-legged friend, take a walk with a two-legged one ... Or alone… at least to the store for that chocolate. You know, for your body and soul. ;)

photography
1

About the Creator

Ana Štimac

I'm a young female engineer who loves to spend her free time with her dog Luna and reading articles and books on many topics.

Even though my academic education is complete, I am eager to continue learning new things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.