Lifehack logo

How to get your 1st 1,000 YouTube Subscribers?

Here’s I’m going to explain to you how How to get your 1st 1,000 YouTube Subscribers?

By Anatoly BoardmanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How to get your 1st subscribers on YouTube

Hey My name is Daniel. And this is how I got my 1st 1,ooo subscribers on YouTube over 3 months. When I started my channel, it took me a long time to grow. I was gaining only a couple of subscribers a week. And I felt like every time I opened the YouTube app on my phone I was disappointed by how slow I was growing and nobody watching my videos. But I finally figured some things out and now I’m gaining over 200 subscribers a month so that was great.

I’ve passed that 1,000 subscriber mark. And now I’m SOOO close to being monetized! So today, I want to share my experience with you and YouTube, the mistakes I made that hurt my growth, and some tips to help you get your first 1,000 subscribers faster!

Obviously, I have my own YouTube channel. I uploaded my first video way back in October of 2019. At the time, I just wanted to use YouTube to help enhance my blog posts. So I was writing a post about Instagram stories and how I use them. But as I was writing, I felt like it would be so much easier to explain if I could share a video. And just like that, my YouTube channel was born. I started with 0 subscribers just like you. Now I made a ton of mistakes when I was just getting started. And we’ll get to that in a little bit. But my first year on YouTube was rough. That quality of my videos wasn’t great. My video ideas weren’t great either. And by the end of 2018, I had only gained 311 subscribers. Oh yeah. It took me over a year to only gain 300 subscribers. Madness. Now, at the time that I’m writing this, I have 1,557 subscribers. I’m generating around 230 new subscribers every month.

And I’m hoping that my YouTube channel will continue to grow faster and faster in 2021 now that I know what I’m doing. So let’s get to those mistakes. What really held me back from growing for A WHOLE YEAR! Hope one day my channel will hit 1 Million Subscribers! Like I already said, I created my YouTube channel to enhance my blog posts. My goal at the beginning wasn’t to grow my channel or become a YouTuber. I just wanted to create videos that I could put in relevant blog posts. But over time, I started to really enjoy creating videos. And I got off track. I shared videos about everything and anything. And that was my first mistake… I didn’t niche down at all. I started out talking about Instagram, productivity, working from home, etc. But then, I got lost. So I started sharing videos about my life, essential oils, gardening, and even… the first time I drove with GrubHub. Yeah. That was a huge HUGE mistake because it didn’t make people want to subscribe to my channel. And it ended up hurting my relationship with the YouTube algorithm.

Thank you so much for taking your time to read my stories.

Seed Keywords are terms that describe super broad topics.

For example, if you were in the digital marketing space, your Seed Keywords would be things like: Social Media LinkedIn Marketing Facebook Page Content Marketing And if you ran a fitness site, your Seed Keyword list would look like this: Fat Loss Kettlebell Workout Paleo Diet Cardio Workout See how that works? These are broad topics that you can create videos about. Now, to be clear: You’re not going to optimize your videos around any of these terms (they’re too competitive). But a list of Seed Keywords is SUPER helpful for the next step. Speaking of… 2. Next, Pop Your Seed Keywords Into YouTube Search Now it’s time to turn a seed keyword into dozens of long tail keywords. How? YouTube Suggest. This works just like Google. Pop a Seed Keyword into YouTube… and check out the keywords that YouTube suggests.

Right after you upload a video, YouTube shows it to a small “early” audience. This audience is comprised of a mix of people who have recently viewed or engaged with your content and a large percentage of your current subscriber base who the algorithm believes are most likely to watch and react to it. It also serves it to anyone who has “hit that notification bell” to make sure they never miss one of your uploads.

The larger your test audience, the better the data so if you have a lot of subscribers you have a better chance of the video doing well, but the beauty of this phase is that the balance on non-subscribers means that even channels with a low subscriber count have a fair chance of virility. If the video flops with this audience, the video slips into obscurity. If it “does well” with this audience, the algorithm moves on to Phase 2.

Phase 2: The Viral Moment.

If your video reaches this phase it means that based on the reactions of your core audience, the Algorithm Gods have smiled upon your video and will begin to show it favor. What this actually means is that the algorithm will begin to show your video to a wider audience made up of people with similar interests and search habits to your core audience (similar to how look-alike audiences work on Facebook).

If the video continues to do well with the expanded audience, it has proven that it has a larger appeal beyond your typical fan base and core audience. This is your viral moment. Your video will now get recommended more and more for as long as people continue to reactive positively.

Good luck with your YouTube channel, we wish you the best of luck.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Anatoly Boardman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.