Lifehack logo

How to Finish your Essay in 24 Hours

Have an essay to write and no money to pay someone to do it for you? Here are some free tips and hacks on how to finish it in minimal time.

By XelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

So you have an essay due at 10 AM tomorrow. Luckily you have today to do it but unfortunately you feel like there is no way you are going to be able to do this essay in 24 hours. You don’t have $30 to pay someone to do it but you can’t just not get a good grade. What the heck are you going to do? You’re going to do the essay and stop worrying.

This is how you can get an essay done in 24 hours or less. This is going to guarantee you an A but it will at least get you a C if not a high B. It all depends on the effort that you put in.

Okay first, get your topic. If your teacher gives you options, choose the topic that you know most about. People will deadass choose a topic that they never heard of and then when you ask them why they chose it they just say, “I don't know it seemed interesting.” They regret that decision 2 days before their essay is due and they’re struggling with a thesis.

After you have your topic, start your research. Get a notebook, preferably, or open to google docs while you’re researching. Go to Ebsco and type in your topic and look at every single article that looks remotely related to what you’re researching. I used to hate having to find sources but it makes your job ten times easier. The more sources, the more info, the more you know even if it isn’t going to fit into your essay. Write down or type every quote that seems relevant and then say one or two things about why you think it's relevant to the side. As you’re doing this, cite the sources at the same time. This will make it easier for you later when you organize your Works Cited page. This part will take the longest and that’s okay. Do not rush this part because the more information that you have, the faster you should be able to go throughout the rest of the process.

Teachers usually tell you to do an outline before your research. I find that doing an outline limits my research, which in the end slows down my process. I do unlimited research first and then just fill in the blanks after. This has always worked for me.

I find it easier to use a notebook and laptop at the same time. I write all of the quotes from all of my sources down in my notebook so that later on when I start typing, it’s right there on side of me. I have also heard that your memory processes things differently that you write down. So organize your thoughts in the best way possible.

Once you are done researching or think that you are done. Write down how many paragraphs you need at least and how many sources you need at least. Next you need to label what each Paragraph will be used for. Let’s say you’re doing an argumentative paper on same sex parenting. You will want your page to look something like this in your notebook:

Paragraph I Introduction

Background

Same Sex becomes legalized so more same sex couples start to look into legal adoption.

Thesis

Paragraph II Your Point

Same Sex Parenting Show the Same Results As Hetero Parents

Paragraph III Your Second Point

Children are living in adoption homes their entire lives, is that what we want?

Paragraph IV your Opposers Point

Same Sex parenting is not the Normal for children. This can influence children to live a certain way and/or cause them to act up.

Conclusion Wrap it Up

Same Sex Parents are completely capable.

Once you have organized your thoughts, go back and look at all of your quotes and make sure that you at least have three different quotes to back up each of these points. I always try to at least have five quotes saved for each paragraph or potential section. For each quote, remember to have your own two cents chimed in right before or after it. You want to avoid a paragraph with nothing but quotes in it. It is okay to have a lot of quotes, just make sure that you back them up with your own little opinion.

After you finish rounding up your quotes and outlining your essay, you’re good to go.

This is when you start writing and hope to not finish until you are done.

Do not get tripped up upon a thesis. When I was younger, I feel like my teachers made a thesis seem like something that was so much harder to achieve than it is. You can make a really great thesis statement with really little information. I think that a lot of people get tripped up over their thesis simply because they just do not know what it is.

With adoption rates on an annual rise, same sex parents are proving that they are just as capable to take care of their non biological children as heterosexual parents are.

Okay so this isn’t the best thesis statement, but you’d at least get a B if you went in and followed up with a great essay.

As you are typing your essay, remember to work smarter not harder. If you come upon writers block in one paragraph just press enter two times and go onto the next paragraph. Do your best to take as minimal breaks as possible. When you take a break from an essay it can either do good for you or kill your essay spirit all together. Sometimes you can come back to your essay with worst writers block than before. So before you take a break, go through your entire essay and make sure that you haven’t completed as much as you can in one sitting. Often times, I find that when I first start my essay, by time I finish with my outline and research that I am all worn out. However I still start typing. I try to at least get my introduction and my conclusion paragraph in place.

After reading this, remember that this isn’t a magic spell granting you fast essay doing abilities. I told you how to do it and now you have to put in the work.

Good luck!!

As always, thank you for reading and all tips are gravely appreciated! All advice submissions and tarot reading requests can be sent to my email. [email protected]

school
Like

About the Creator

Xel

A writer with a lot to say. Below you’ll find advice, late night thoughts and diary entries! Don’t forget to check out my podcast, tik tik and instagram!🌸❤️

All The Feelings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.