Lifehack logo

How to Decide What Should You Read Next?

Without checking book descriptions and reader reviews.

By Victoria KurichenkoPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
2
Image credit: Thought Catalog on Unsplash

“You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.”

— Paul Sweeney

What defines a good book? That’s a question I ask myself each time I am looking for a new book to read.

I stick to a habit of reading at least one book a month, but my wish list has already skyrocketed.

As a motivated reader, I want to consume insightful books that will impact my vision, life, and perception. The last thing I expect from a book is a feeling of dissatisfaction and a waste of time.

The book description does not always work as a teaser for movies, displaying the most insightful parts. No! It is often a summary or a book timeline described in a few sentences.

There must be something else to judge the book. Maybe reviews? As a frequent e-book reader, I usually check reviews before jumping into the reading part. However, they are often not informative. What to do in this case?

There is a better way to decide if a book is worths reading. Here is what you can do.

1. Check the Author

Have you ever started reading a book because you’ve seen or heard positive feedback about the author?

I did, many times! If you trust the author’s experience and credibility, you will most likely find the books useful.

If you are looking for a non-fiction book, consider if the author has expertise in a subject.

For instance, I am a big fan of Stephen Hawking, an English theoretical physicist, cosmologist, and author of multiple science books. In his lectures, he explained complex theories and cosmology in simple words so that listeners could understand.

When I stumbled upon his book “A Brief History of Time,” I did not read an intro to learn what’s there; neither checked the reviews from other readers. I was fascinated by the author, and it motivated me to read his book.

I never regretted my choice. The book is as gorgeous as the author!

The point of reading a non-fiction book is to learn about the subject. If no one involved in making a book has any subject expertise, then the book is most likely not worth reading.

I read a lot about business and marketing. Hence, I am very cautious about a new book selection. My time, as a reader, is limited, but the options are endless.

The author’s expertise and credibility helps to understand if he has the power to share something new, insightful with the world. If you believe the author, then the book is 100% worth your time reading it.

2. Is It Recommended by Like-Minded Readers?

I am sure you have some friends, family members, or public figures you admire and respect, who inspire you, and whose opinion is important to you.

As an example, I am following book recommendations from Sinem Günel on her Instagram. She is a young writer, a coach, an entrepreneur, and a fascinating person who always motivates me to believe in myself.

Sinem’s writing style, topics, and ideas resonate with me. I often say “yes, right, agree” whenever I read her posts. Since I see common interests, I am more open to accept recommendations.

Thanks to Sinem, I’ve stumbled uponThe Art and Business of Online Writing by Nicolas Cole. As a young writer, I found the book insightful and worths reading.

Social media is a fantastic tool to connect with like-minded people who will spark your motivation and creativity.

However, it is not the only place to look for books that are worths checking.

I’ve been reading e-books on Bookmate for more than two years. I've joined the platform when it was a sort of online library. These days, readers can create themed bookshelves and network with like-minded book lovers.

I am sure this functionality is offered by many online e-book service providers to help readers narrow down the “wish list.”

2.5 quintillion bytes of data are created and published online by humans every day. By 2025, people are expected to produce 463 exabytes of data daily! Apparently, people are no longer able to process that much information online.

People tend to trust who they know when solving their problems—the same about book selection.

Your next book will most likely be worth reading if suggested by a like-minded person you admire and trust.

3. Does It Follow Your Current Mood?

Photo credit: Alisa Anton on Unsplash

A good book can help you get a mood, energy, and motivation for a day. A book is not only a dry source of information. No! It is a lifestyle and a unique element of home decor.

I read a book a few years ago that I still associate with the autumn season. It is called The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living by Meik Wiking. Here is what the author says about “hygge”:

Hygge is the sensation you get when you’re cuddled up on a sofa, in cozy socks under a soft throw, during a storm.

It’s that feeling when you’re sharing comfort food and easy conversation with loved ones at a candlelit table.

It is the warmth of morning light shining just right on a crisp blue-sky day.

This book was all I needed after long days at work. It was a book that matched my mood and left long-lasting warm memories.

The book can help you take a break from the daily rush, slow down, get comfy, spend time with yourself, and feel life today, not tomorrow.

Think about how do you feel these days? Are you excited to wake up and start a new day? Or do you feel overwhelmed and need some mental rest?

The right book can help you get over your difficulties, stress, and anxiety. A book can bring lost motivation back and make you have an intimate conversation with yourself.

4. Do The First Chapters Hook You?

It does not matter you read fiction or non-fiction literature; a well-written book should catch and keep your attention.

Page by page, you imagine the scenes in your head; you join the characters and take part in actions; you are curious to find out what will happen next;

Did this happen to you while starting a new book? If yes, the writer did a good job. The book is appealing; it triggers curiosity and provides value.

As Harold Kushner, a prominent American rabbi, pointed:

“I think of life as a good book. The further you get into it, the more it begins to make sense.”

The longer you read, the more it should start making sense for you. You need to feel the value of knowledge and pleasure from reading. Otherwise, you could easily spend this time on something else.

I follow the rule of 50 pages, which is usually a few chapters of a book. I dedicate time and my concentration to read them. It usually takes me a few hours to read through the first chapters and see if a book meets my needs.

I am happy to continue reading if I am hooked, and the book seems exciting. However, I stop reading if a book does not make sense for me, if chapters break the flow when a writer jumps from one story to another, I feel it is not the right choice for this time.

If the book title hooks you, but you are not sure about the content — read a few chapters, and you will quickly get an idea if it’s worths reading further.

Takeaways

What makes a good book is different for most people.

A book worth reading is the one you want to keep reading; it makes you switch off Netflix; it enlightens your vision and motivates you to change the way you live your life.

If you wonder whether a book is worth reading, check out the author. Does he have expertise in a subject? Is he knowledgeable enough to trust?

Great authors are scientists, researchers, entrepreneurs, psychologists with proven experience and a loyal audience. If you trust the author, then go ahead and read his book! It is worth reading.

Find out what like-minded people read, and catch some ideas for yourself. I often follow this rule when I run out of ideas or if I want to add a great book to my collection.

People with similar thinking can help you narrow down choices and focus on what’s worth reading for you at this moment.

Listen to your inner voice; what does it say? Does it want you to rebel and have fun the whole day? Or does it want you to escape from this world and spend a day with yourself? A book that fits your current mood is the one to help you relax and enjoy life now.

Still can’t find a good book? Maybe Toni Morrison, a great American novelist, has the right answer for you:

“If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

how to
2

About the Creator

Victoria Kurichenko

Self-made marketer & content writer. Writing daily. Creating SEO-friendly content for 3 years.

My site: https://selfmademillennials.com/

Let's get in touch: https://www.linkedin.com/in/victoria-kurichenko/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.