Lifehack logo

How to Create a Window Seat Reading Nook

A Book Lover's Dream

By Reese MariePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

At some point in my childhood, the idea entered my mind that sitting on a windowsill while reading a book and listening to the sound of raindrops must be one of the great peaks of human experience.

I'm not sure how this romantic idea first made its way into my imagination. I must have read about it somewhere, or seen it in a movie. But how it arrived matters less than the fact that idea stuck with me, the simple vision, it followed me into adulthood, until, recently, it became a reality.

In the summer, I undertook a major room renovation project. I had just graduated from college and I was working from home, living in the same bedroom I had lived in as a kid. Something felt off. I felt like I needed to change the space I was living in. I was in a totally different stage of life, so it seemed that my surroundings needed to change as well, to reflect this in a physical way. But, ironically, as I set out to create a bedroom that reflected the adult version of myself, I had one childhood dream in mind. A dream which I had every intention of turning into a reality. A window seat reading nook.

It was simple to create, and every bit as magical as I hoped it would be. I sit there often these days to read or journal or reflect. It's cozy and bright and comfy, a perfect place to relax.

It's probably clear already that I highly support the creation of window seat reading nooks. Maybe you, like me, have a deep-seeded childhood dream of reading by the window, in which case I encourage you to follow that dream, even into adulthood! Here's how I made mine, and how you can too.

1. Locate an old dresser.

By Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

It should be a smallish dresser, about three drawers tall. You'll still be able to use it to store your clothes, so don't worry if you don't have a spare dresser. Look around your house, and see what you've got. If you can't find anything at home, try your local thrift store. You're looking for a dresser with three rows of drawers. Chances are it will have legs on it. Once you've located the dresser, you're gonna want to...

2. Chop the legs off.

By Hunter Haley on Unsplash

Yup, take a saw to your dresser's legs. I just used a standard hand saw. It wasn't quick, but I got through the wood eventually. Most three-drawer-tall dressers will be the perfect height to tuck right underneath a window once you remove the extra height from the legs. But be sure to measure the space in between the bottom of your window and the floor before you start chopping.

3. Slide it under the window.

By Danielle Dolson on Unsplash

This step is obvious but important. Be sure to choose a cozy window. Ideally, it should be in the corner of the room so you can lean your back against the wall. And it doesn't hurt if it has a nice view.

4. Top it with cushions and pillows and throw blankets.

By Amy Humphries on Unsplash

Top your window seat with all things cozy! Make it inviting, a space where you want to sit and relax after a day of hard work, a space where you want to curl up with a cup of tea and your favorite book.

Now that you've learned how to create your own window seat, I hope you won't mind if I give you a little tour of mine!

Here it is! My favorite part might be the Van Gogh Starry Night pillow. It just makes the space a little more dreamy and a little more inspiring.

I recently moved my bookshelf from the other side of the room. Having the bookshelf right next to the window seat makes it even more of a perfect reading nook!

I have a cute thrifted lamp next to it so I can still read or journal at night when there's not light coming through the window.

And here I am, living out my lifelong dream.

Thank you for coming along with me today to my favorite space! I hope you get to create your own window seat reading nook, and I hope you love it as much as I love mine!

house
3

About the Creator

Reese Marie

"That the powerful play goes on and that you may contribute a verse"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.