Lifehack logo

How Marie Kondo And The North American House Hippo Reignited My Passions

Embracing My Tiny Addiction

By The Creative Chimera Published 3 years ago 8 min read
9
Image and artwork by me

Artistic blocks in any medium are bound to ensnare us eventually. They lurk in the shadows, waiting to pounce on a moment of self-doubt.

As a painter, I found my first niche in a vaguely chaotic style of semi-abstractism. My spirit was abuzz with inspiration as I forged through late nights crafting what I was certain would be masterpieces. The first few paintings felt like utter genius. I had found my “style” and I was ready to take on the world.

My first big sale piece

My first big sale was made through Etsy to a client in France. I was flying high on my newly attained “internationally selling artist” status… for about ten minutes. Unfortunately, that sale became my most expensive business lesson as a naive artist. The cost of shipping alone was more than I had made on the entire sale. That international status came at a hefty price, leaving me underfunded and doubting the reality of ever becoming a “real artist”. Who was I trying to fool? By the sixth painting, I was disenchanted with the whole project. After months of hemorrhaging money, straining and struggling against the overwhelming crisis that was my life, the project flatlined. I plunged into a deep creative chasm, devoid of passion or light. In the darkness, there is no colour.

Over time I sought to rekindle the spark. Dabbling in acrylics, fluid art, watercolours, and gouache were dead ends. Everything I produced felt like suck. It was a collection of backgrounds with no substance. They evoked no greater meaning than blobs of colour haphazardly mashed together. I stopped creating for over a year as both my financial and emotional wells ran dry.

Marie Kondo to the rescue! I fell in love with the concept that everything in our lives can be curated to bring us joy. The purge began shortly thereafter. I tore into boxes and storage bins, rummaging through a lifetime of tattered memories. Releasing items that no longer brought joy or value to my life alleviated a weight that had been slowly suffocating my soul. As each item was relinquished, painful memories passed on with them. Through a process of elimination, I became whole once more.

That’s when I found it, the diamond in the rough.

It was a scuffed little birdhouse my Grandfather and I made long ago. As I stared at the well-loved house a memory enveloped my mind of an old lakeside cottage coated in golden dust. The glorious scent of freshly lain sawdust fills the air, mingling with the sweet aroma of tacky varnish. Our little woodshop is littered with Michaels bags stuffed with untold treasures. Assorted lumber is strewn amongst our projects in organized chaos. Grandpa grins at me as we put the finishing touches on an immaculate birdhouse. I’m home.

The oldest birdhouse I own ❤️👩‍🎨

Snapping back to reality, a flood of inspiration began flowing through me. I had been going at this all wrong! Inspiration cannot be created by sheer force of will, it must be nurtured from within ourselves. I needed to reconnect with the materials that originally set my creative fire ablaze. The earthy scent of fresh cedar, grainy sandpaper between my fingertips, and the silky surface of freshly worn wood fill me with childish glee. As I smooth the ragged surface of each plank, my fingers and soul become as soft as the wood beneath my hands. There is an unmistakable joy in the scent of freshly slathered varnish or popping open a new can of paint. Each stroke of the brush adds simple beauty without a need for deeper meaning or heavy contemplation. Then comes the final step, my favourite part, DECORATING!

Tiny things have always fascinated me. I believe it stems from somewhere between my love for fairy tales and a recurring series of dreams that captivated me as a child. Vivid images ripple through my mind of miniature people living inside my Grandmother's bedroom closet. They foraged around the house, crafting clothes and household items out of spare bits and bobbles. Although they came from within my mind, their creativity inspired me.

The source of these eccentric dreams has always eluded me. Honestly, I blame the House Hippos.

I wished desperately to manifest some hidden mystical powers and will my tiny companions to life. I still chase that dream, though differently now. I am in the works of writing a middle-grade novel about my intrepid companions. The confidence I have gained as a Vocal writer bolstered my courage to chase this lifelong dream. The upcoming novel has largely inspired the conception of my latest flight of artistic fancy, fairy housing!

After scouring stores for all of the amazing miniature goodies I could snatch up, I was ready to take on the world of fairy interior design. This project has become a perfect storm of all my creative passions. I am finally able to combine my love for textiles and painting with a reignited passion for woodworking and furniture design. Best of all, it’s on an affordable scale!

Crafting rustic fairy nests, functional art studios, and eclectic lounges for your average tinker fairy has allowed me to reuse and upcycle unexpected items. Strips of old scrapbook stock become chic new wallpaper. An old pendant or charm transforms into an elegant chandelier. With a trusty pair of scissors and a bit of innovation, any tiny sanctuary will flourish. There are infinite possibilities!

I have recently had the honour of accepting a commission to build a memorial home for a bereaved mother. The house is adorned in bright hues of purple and green representing suicide awareness. I am tasked with ensuring this home will be bright and joyful. It will be filled with things her daughter loved; a celebration of love and life rather than a monument to tragedy and loss. After working for many years in the bereavement community I have come to understand the importance of physical connection in healing. Corporeal items bind us mentally and emotionally with those we have lost. This is especially prevalent in the bereaved parent community. My hope is to offer a peaceful respite for this brave mother to rest her soul.

Half way there! It won’t be finished before I submit this article as I want to ensure each piece is perfect but you can see where I’m going with it.

Though I have traversed the desolate peaks of despair, creative expression pulls joy and passion back to me. The gentle guiding hand of creation keeps me grounded. Through inspiration and expression, we meet our truest selves.

Fully functioning miniature art studios with supplies

Fairy “nests”

Make your own fairy palace!

Step one: Choose your frame or get crafty and build one from scratch!

You can upcycle an old shelf, repurpose barn wood, or even grab a prefabricated house like the one you see in this example. The base of your project can be anything you set your wildest dreams on if you're willing to put in the DIY time.

(I purchased a few of these house-shaped shelves at my local Dollarama so don’t worry, you won’t have to break the bank for this project!)

Step two: Select your finish

A nice coat of paint or fresh sand down and stain will breathe new life into upcycled items. Painting is not a necessity, nor is it by far the only option. Go wild, test out all of your fantasy decor ideas! If you intend to have living plants in your space I recommend selecting a material or finish that will prevent any rotting or mold without harming the flora.

Step three: DECORATING!

Miniatures and tiny decor can get awfully expensive. Pre-made options run you as high as ten or twenty dollars a piece. For some items, the cost may be worth it, but you can save a huge percentage of your budget by getting a little extra crafty! Check out some of my favourite ideas below to get your creative juices flowing.

Lighting crafted from a repurposed glitter bottle, paper roses, and plastic foliage combined with battery operated fairy lights (easily found at a dollar store)

A simple charm or pendant, such as this upcycled trinket from an old perfume bottle, can easily become the height of interior fashion.

Fairy lights and upcycled perfume bottle charm

Simple shapes can be combined to make unique furniture to please your fairy guests!

Shelf and table crafted with wood and hot glue

A standard cleaning sponge is perfect for carving out furniture or props without adding unnecessary weight to your project. If you intend to ship the item as a gift it will also be more durable! Sponges can be shaken or crushed without taking any damage unlike delicate wood, paper, or ceramic decor.

Sponge chair to be covered in upcycled fabric

I have recently taken up the challenge of learning to craft mini books. As I strive to create fully functioning miniature art studios, a tiny sketchbook is a must-have. Although I am definitely not an authority on this particular skill YET, I recommend it as both an addition to your tiny space or a fun side project!

Stage one: cutting and folding

Stage two: inner bindings (they will still require a cover to get a nice finished look but as of now they are fully usable!)

Check out this video and more to find the perfect style for your book:

Is it still collage with only one cut-out?
Mini decor ideas

Pro Tip:

Wood is a very porous surface meaning that your paint will soak in and often require extra layers. A base coat of yellow before painting an item gold will give you a nice bright finish with fewer coats of paint. Be sure to choose a matte finish yellow paint. Glossy finish is not suitable as a primer or base coat as it will prevent your following layers from adhering evenly to the surface.

A mysterious portal in the making

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this article please consider clicking that little heart and sharing the post on your social media. If you wanted to know more about creating or purchasing any of the items featured here please feel free to contact me anytime!

Instagram @thecreativechimera

My website www.thecreativechimera.com

Email [email protected] 👩‍🎨❤️

crafts
9

About the Creator

The Creative Chimera

Welcome! I’m an Artist, Twitch streamer, & eclectic writer. I do fiction and non fiction so check out my profile to see more of my topics! I joined vocal to spread some knowledge, share some of my works & find awesome writers to experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.