Lifehack logo

How I Styled My New Room

Home decor pieces that tied the atmosphere together

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How I Styled My New Room
Photo by shche_ team on Unsplash

Home decor is something I never stop talking about. Until I moved, I couldn't justify redecorating my space in my personal style. Being able to do so was both a privilege and exciting. After thinking long and hard about what I wanted my room to look like, I finally have everything in place. Here are a few of my favorite things about my room that really pull the atmosphere together.

  • Orange and green blankets.

For the longest time, I avoided this color combo like the plague. I always thought it was too reminiscent of a carrot. Recently, I've tried a rusty orange blanket paired with a deep green one against a white bedspread. I love the look of it! I think it looks both modern and vintage at the same time. Since they're both blankets, it adds more interesting and subtle textures to the space. I've been thinking about adding a cow-patterned blanket to the mix, but I'm still on the fence about it.

  • End-side tables instead of nightstands.

Rather than having a stand with drawers, I opted for a simplistic end-side table. Any time I had a traditional nightstand, I found myself being a disorganized mess. Being proactive and getting rid of any chance of jammed drawers has been much better. Not to mention, the end-side tables are lighter, making them easier to move. If I really need to, I can vacuum the whole area rather than cleaning around the legs. I was lucky enough to find tables with a wood texture surface. The natural look matches the rest of the colors in the room.

  • Wicker-basket for laundry

I've always disliked super huge laundry baskets. It makes it way too easy for dirty clothes to accumulate and causes laundry day to be an entire endeavor. This is why I have a smaller wicker basket for all my soon-to-be-washed clothes. My favorite feature is the handles. Most of the time, it is woven into the basket's frame, making it sturdy. It's easier to clean, has a natural appearance, and can fit in the closet.

  • Having the dresser in the closet.

I've put my dresser and laundry basket in the closet for a few years now. Having it in one area and out of the way gave the room more space. Not to mention, it helps me remind myself to clean the floors of my closet as well.

  • House plants.

If you've read my post covering home-design trends I love, then you already know my feelings about indoor plants. Having both small succulents and tall snake plants adds variety to my room. The height difference makes the environment look more organic. Having plants also encourages me to leave the curtains drawn back, making natural sunlight an added bonus.

  • My pink salt lamp.

With all the plants and the green blanket, the cool to warm color ratio was unbalanced. I do have LED lights wrapped around my headboard, but unless they're on, you can't see them. Thus my quest for a warm-colored, functional, and reasonably priced decor piece began. Eventually, I came across my salt lamp and absolutely adored it. It sits on a wooden coaster and emits soft orange light. It matches my modern vintage look and is a great bedside lamp.

Style and decor are subjective. I tried to style my room based on the trendy earth tones I've seen circulating. I love the simplistic yet beautiful color pallets in this genre and am thrilled to replicate them in my room. Thank you so much for taking the time to look at some of my favorite parts of my room!

house
1

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.