Lifehack logo

How I Find Joy In Different Countries With Small Properties

Fitting My Needs And Not Others' Expectations

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
1
Returning To My Roots-Italy-(Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

I have always loved traveling and exploring new cultures. I have also always valued simplicity and practicality over luxury and extravagance. That's why, early on in my professional career, I decided to change the way in which I do business and live my life. I chose to invest in small properties around the world that suit me and are not to impress anyone, but are for being practical and useful.

I own properties in six different countries: USA (Las Vegas), Thailand, Cambodia, Mexico, Italy and Japan. Each one of them has its own charm and uniqueness, but they all have some common features that make them comfortable and sustainable for me. They all have power through solar panels, accessible and clean water sources, a secure inside to keep any dangerous critters away, and internet access (though not always the most reliable). They are also all located in scenic and peaceful areas, away from the noise and pollution of the cities.

I enjoy spending time in each of my properties, depending on the season and my mood. However, at this time, I have not let the general public into my life through videos, photos and stories at properties other than Las Vegas and Cambodia because of the current economic climate and political landscape (I also just stopped trusting giving all my information about my life to people I do not know, only for my property to be vandalized, robbed or lived in without my permission). Sometimes I like to experience the excitement and entertainment of Las Vegas, sometimes I like to relax and enjoy the nature and culture of Thailand, sometimes I like to explore the history and cuisine of Italy, sometimes I like to immerse myself in the diversity and vibrancy of Mexico, and sometimes I like to discover the beauty and hospitality of Georgia.

But out of all the countries I associate with, it is the Cambodian properties I spend a majority of my time because I am married to a Khmer and it is where we function best. We have a few properties in Cambodia: one in Phnom Penh and the others in the jungles of Mondulkiri. We love the warmth and friendliness of the Cambodian people, the richness and diversity of the Cambodian culture, and the affordability and convenience of the Cambodian lifestyle.

We also have some sort of garden growing in all our locations or at least trees we have planted to be able to fruit and harvest from within the next several years and to be able to get sustenance from. We grow vegetables, herbs, fruits and flowers that we use for our own consumption or share with our neighbors and friends. We enjoy the process of planting, nurturing and harvesting our own food, as well as the benefits of eating fresh, organic and healthy produce.

I feel very happy and fulfilled with my simple life in different countries with small properties that fit my needs and not others' expectations. I don't care what other people think or say about me or my choices. I don't need to follow the trends or compete with anyone. I don't need to have a big house or a fancy car or a lot of money. I just need to have a roof over my head, a bed to sleep on, a table to eat on, a chair to sit on, a book to read, a song to listen to, a person to love, a place to belong, and a world to explore.

I know that my lifestyle is not for everyone. Some people may think that I am crazy or irresponsible or selfish. Some people may think that I am wasting my time or money or potential. Some people may think that I am missing out on something or running away from something or searching for something. Let me stress, I don't care what they think. I only care what I think and what I feel. And I think and feel that I am living my best life. I am living according to my values and my passions. I am living with freedom and flexibility. I am living with gratitude and generosity. I am living with curiosity and creativity. I am living with love and joy.

I don't know what the future holds for me, my wife or for the world. I don't know how long I will be able to continue this lifestyle or if I will ever want to change it. But I do know that right now, in this moment, I am happy and content with my simple life the way in which I designed to be able to fit my needs and not others' expectations.

And that's all that matters to me.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

how to
1

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.