Lifehack logo

How Do You Crochet a Granny Square?

Let me teach you!

By Zari's DiaryPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Have you always wanted to learn how to crochet? Are you tired of experiencing confusion when learning a new crochet pattern? Well..congrats! You have found the right video! Why is the "Beginner's Guide: How to crochet a granny square" important? Granny Squares are beginner projects! Now, I'm going, to be honest! The first time I ever crocheted a granny square it did not turn out the right way. My square was crooked and it's stitching was too tight. I quickly unraveled my work to create a new square. After practicing and learning a few crochet abbreviations, the pattern became easy. Yes! child! This square pattern is easy! All you have to do is learn a few simple stitches. Watch the video to learn or follow the written instructions below!

For this project you will need:

- Two Balls of Yarn

- Crochet Hook of Your Choice

- Scissors

Crochet Abbreviations for this Pattern:

ALT - Alternate

Ch - chain

DC - Double Crochet

DCS - Double Crochets

SL ST - Slip Stitch

Crochet Term:

Corner Cluster - 3 dcs, ch 2, 3dcs

Pattern/round 1:

First, start with a slip knot on your crochet hook then chain 4. Next, sl st into the first chain to form a small ring.

Note: If you do not want to use this method of making a ring create a magic loop! Please watch the video above to see a demonstration.

Ch 3 from the ring (counts as first dc). Crochet 2 dcs in the ring and then ch 2. Now, make 3 dcs in the ring and then ch 2 again. Congrats! You made your first corner cluster.

Repeat, 3 dcs in the ring and ch 2 for two more rows until you form what looks like a square with a cross in the middle. When you are done sl st at the top of your square.

Round 2:

Attach your alt color yarn by tying it to one of the corners from round 1. Next, ch 3 and make 2 dcs in the corner then ch 2. Then you are going to make three dcs in the corner. Now, you have the first corner cluster for round 2!

Ch 1 across and make another corner cluster in the corner from the previous round. Repeat, corner cluster, ch 1 across and make another corner cluster until you are done with the round. Sl st at the top of the square when finished.

Round 3:

For this round attach your first color yarn to one of the corner clusters from round 2. Make a corner cluster, ch 1 and crochet 3 dcs in the ch 1 space from the previous round. Next, ch 1 again and create another corner cluster. Repeat until you are finished with the round.

Round 4 & 5:

Repeat round 3 to finish rounds 4 & 5.

Note: When working rounds 4 & 5 be sure to crochet 3 dcs in each ch1 space on all sides of the square.

When you finish pat yourself on the back! You just made a beautiful granny square!

You can use the square as a hot pad or a table coaster for drinks. Also, if you crochet individual granny squares try sewing them together. This will create a granny square blanket. I will do a video in the future about this topic.

Thank you so much for reading! Do you want more content from me? Then, please subscribe to my YouTube channel and follow me on Instagram by clicking the links below.

Also, if you enjoy the content I put on my blog donate to me! All tips are appreciated!

Subscribe to my channel link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1_3SKzeTOd6MlfJN3vjlkQ?view_as=subscriber?sub_confirmation=1

Instagram link: https://www.instagram.com/zarilove9619

crafts
2

About the Creator

Zari's Diary

Hey everyone! I'm Zari welcome to my diary! I started this blog to express and discuss my passion for writing, crochet, art, singing, dance, and poetry! Yes! I'm very talented! Follow me as I create!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.