Lifehack logo

Holiday Shopping Frenzy Alternatives

"Eco-Friendly Perfect Gift Ideas"

By Pam ZeePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

Holiday shopping can be hectic when you do not know where to shop, leave alone what to get someone. Whether it is a relative, friend, co-worker, family member, children, lover/partner, spouse, or affiliates; not knowing what they like can be strenuous. And with the ongoing pandemic, the normal traditional ways of shopping are no longer conducive. One must re-evaluate their steps and utilize what they already own or settle for alternatives. In juxtaposition, if you are on a budget, DIY-gifts, and secondhand shopping maybe the best viable option for you. On the other hand, if you are like me; online shopping along with traditional decors might resonate more with you.

Narrowing the shopping list is vital to your sanity and shopping success. I personally come from a big family, so I try and send Christmas cards to every family member and instead buy gifts to a chosen few. Preferably the kids, nieces, nephews, and the two siblings I share a home with. By narrowing my list to less than 5 family members as supposed to 10+ relatives, I can shop within a budget and still full fill my home decoration theme for that year. Every year, we alternate the theme colors for Christmas and the host in charge for the decorations. Luckily, I hosted last year, and my sister is overseeing the decorations and hosting gig this year. That gives me leverage to expand my list by shopping for my colleagues, friends and a few more relatives this year. Given the fact that traditional decorations, gift wraps, and party favors are pricey closer to the festive season. Me and my two siblings that share a home with simultaneously agreed to pick the next season color theme a year in advance. As soon as Christmas winds down, we start brainstorming on ideas and the next host confirms their preferred holiday theme. Precisely on new years day, we each drive out to different department stores and purchase all the decorations for the following year. Given that the items are usually 50-75%, we settle on a variety of great bargains compared to last minute shoppers. The only downside to this, is to always set aside Christmas decorations shopping money ontop of the frenzy involved around the festive season. My siblings and I share costs and responsibilities equally to help alienate the anxiety of holiday shopping alone. The advantage to it is, we often recycle the Christmas decors we already own whenever the hosts settle on a color theme we previously used. This not only saves us money, but it helps curb dealing with shoppers stampede as well as protect mother nature.

Most products, gift wraps and decorations we purchase for seasonal decorations are always 80% eco-friendly. Given the fact that we also re-use and recycle these products, also helps make our planet a better place. By going green for the holidays, we do not only enrich our environment and earth as whole; but we also limit the toxins from the air we breathe. I personally use eco-friendly cleaning products in my home and influenced my siblings in eliminating the use of all chemical products in the house. I also took the initiative to grow my own produce in a garden bed, of which I currently use to cook with daily. By growing my own produce, I control what goes in the soil as well as what remedies I use to curb pesticides. Ground coffee being my favorite remedy, not only smells great but helps enrich my soil and helps balance the soil acidic levels as well. I am a firm believer that clean eating starts from within and to the ground level up. If you put toxins in your body, your system will eventually become toxic and begin shutting down. I honestly believe, we as a nation should take/use this concept when it comes to the environment as well.

This Holiday season was no different, given the current state of our nation worldwide with the on-going Pandemic. I wanted to gift my relatives, family, and friends something meaningful while still living within my means. I decided to switch it up a little and try a different approach with gifting and buying presents this year. Instead of my usual online shopping trend, I decided to boost my local small businesses instead. I came across a small family-owned business in Killeen TX, that focuses in selling custom hand woven kente fabrics, clothes, earrings, masks, and handbags. My heart immediately skipped a beat when I saw their products. Kente fabrics are environmentally friendly. The dye used to create the beautiful colorful themes are derived from the bark of trees and its leaves, then pounded together before the fabric/print is dipped into the dye. Coming from an origin of African-Descent, I knew I had found the perfect gifts for my sisters. Given the fact, that my sisters are fashionistas, trendy, and loves bright colorful prints. I knew I had accomplished my Christmas shopping goal since I wanted to gift my two siblings, something meaningful but stylish. I settled upon the 5-gift set package consisting of a Handbag, earrings, mask, head-wrap, and purse. I then decided to have the giftset discreetly delivered to my house without my siblings’ knowledge. I have since accomplished that goal as well and is currently wrapping the gifts. My next challenge might be the hardest part, keeping this a secret untill Christmas next week. I plan on sharing this blog on Christmas Day just to keep my siblings from seeing their Christmas present by reading this blog.

On the other hand, as for my friend, I plan on regifting a pair of Designer Shoe I was collecting. The shoe is brand new, never worn/used, and my friend just happens to love the same shoe designer as me. I plan on using environment friendly gift bags or wraps for all my gifts. My strategy is not only cost effective, eco-friendly, but time efficient as well. Not only am I able to curb the spread of COVID-19 by continuing to practice social distancing within the comfort of my home while holiday shopping, but I am also helping keep the environment safe by limiting my outdoor exposure and crowded places. My sister who is hosting Christmas this year is also combining two holiday decoration color themes we have previously done in the past, red and gold. Since majority of these decorations are eco-friendly and re-usable, she is also helping this holiday season better for our wallets while going green. Season greetings to you all and Happy Holidays. If you like what you read, kindly share, like/love, and comment on the post below.

how to
2

About the Creator

Pam Zee

I am Author/Writer living in TX. I strive to create narratives that resonate deeply with human experience. I hope my stories can bring people together, allowing us to find common ground, and understand the beauty in our diversity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.