Lifehack logo

Holding Something Beautiful

on the frenzy of creation

By Reyna CondonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
(A digital collage created from old drawings of mine)

There is something frenzied and almost beautiful about the way I collage. I collect a stack of magazines, and then, almost as if I’m going to war against the paper with scissors as my only weapon, I attack with a vicious hunger, pulling out the images that strike me in some way. I often end up with way more images cut out than I can even use.

I always say I’ll use those other images later, but there’s something about being in the moment of making that makes me forget. I feel so single-minded, focused intently on a vision that starts out cloudy and intangible, but slowly becomes more real as I put scissors to paper and rip out what’s beautiful.

It’s always about what’s beautiful -- in those moments before I know what kind of image I’m going for, I’m just pulling out everything I find beautiful. The shape of this flower, the look in that girl’s eyes, the color of a dress, the feeling of a building. These images come to life and jump at me as I flip through the pages, and I can’t just ignore them.

Sometimes, the collage I end up with doesn’t even make sense to me. I’ll admit it; I don’t always know what I’m doing. I’ll end up with a mash-up of images that look beautiful and come alive in a new way, but I couldn’t explain what it means for the life of me. I can’t explain why the composition ended up the way it did, can’t explain why the color palette ended up the way it did. All I can always say is that I find it beautiful; that I found the images beautiful and that I find the result beautiful. That, in my mind, they belonged like that the whole time.

And the rest of it is beautiful too -- the scraps of paper strewn across my desk and floor, the extra images that I’ll never use, the several pairs of scissors that lay ‘missing’ in spots where I couldn’t see them. It’s all beautiful.

Maybe it’s so beautiful because of the happiness it brings me.

The frenzied feeling of creating something sometimes feels stressful to me. I want to create with abandon, but paint and clay and charcoal don’t always satisfy that need to create with a reckless, impulsive energy. They require focus.

Sometimes I don’t want to focus. Sometimes I want to take my scissors and go to war with the paper. I want to feel the creative energy seeping into my bones, and I want to tremble with that energy. I want to create without a plan, without a care. I want to take out all my negative feelings in that war with the paper and come out on the other side, calm and holding something beautiful.

Creating sometimes feels like a storm I’m in the middle of; feeling so much inspiration and armed with so much training and skill, and trying to balance all these different feelings and themes I want to pour into my work. I want to say so much, but there’s only so much that can be said in one work. I try to take it one piece at a time, slowly building up the story I want to tell. Slowly pushing my way through the storm. It sometimes feels frustrating. I at times want to never create again. There are days when nothing comes easy, and my skills feel like they’re falling apart. I feel like I’m being pulled apart by the winds of the creative storm.

But at times I create something -- be it a collage, or a painting, or a sculpture, or a poem -- and it’s like the storm clouds clear for a moment. That’s enough to keep me pushing through for longer. That’s enough to keep me going. When I hold something beautiful I’ve made.

This beautiful frenzy is worth all the struggle and more.

crafts
2

About the Creator

Reyna Condon

I am a college student currently working toward my double major in illustration and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.