Lifehack logo

From the Office of the DA Mayor

San Lotano Oval Maduro

By D.A. MayorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Herbert getting Oval'd

In todays world it seems like it is all about the latest and greatest. What’s new? That is always the first question. The cigar world is no different. When I was working in shops, Everyday I would get asked “What’s new?”. And that is perfectly ok. In fact, I love trying the newest cigars out on the market as much as the next guy, but every once in awhile it is necessary to dive into the humidor and grab a classic. A tried and true champ that hasn’t been seen in some time. Today I’m diving deep into my humidor and pulling out a San Lotano Oval Maduro 6x60. Now this isn’t the same Oval that is on the market today, but the original release version that flooded the market in 2011.

Before we get into this classic, lets talk about the history of the San Lotano Oval and the man that makes it, AJ Fernandez. Fernandez, who is one of the hottest cigar makers today, started off making cigars for other cigar brands as well as having many successful brands he blended for Cigar International, such as Man O’ War and Ave Maria. In 2010 he came out with his firs solo project called San Lotano, which is named for one of his farms in Nicaragua. After much praise and success, Fernandez came out with the San Lotano Oval in 2011 which, as the name implies, is Oval shaped – not round and not boxed pressed but OVAL shaped. At first glance, one would think this would be odd for a cigar, but in reality, the shape actually sits comfortably in the mouth while smoking, even in the larger sizes. And this Nicaraguan puro does not disappoint.

In the first third of the cigar, the Oval opens up with an earthy and cocoa flavor that is complimented with a fruity sweet retrohale. The construction gives me an effortless draw and a slightly crooked burn, but nothing that needs to be touched up manually. Because this version of the Oval hasn’t been on the market for a few years (the San Lotano line was repackaged in the mid 2010’s) I could really taste how aging had mellowed out a once solidly medium – full bodied smoke.

The second third and final third of the San Lotano Oval Maduro see the cocoa flavor dissipate and the earthiness shine through. The retrohale turns from sweet to spicy and the construction remains consistent, though I did have to touch up the burn manually slightly in the end of the final third. The Oval is solidly medium bodied with medium to full flavor output.

Overall, the Oval stays in the Earthy, sweet flavor profile, with a sweet and spicy retrohale that never burns, but is more mellow like the cigar. Overall construction is solid with an excellent draw and a burn that would get wobbly at times and only had to be touched up at the very end. In the end, I am very glad I pulled one of my favorite cigars out of the vault to write a review. It is always good to visit with an old friend.

In other news, yes, I know I have been on an Espinosa kick since I’ve been backing in the review game, but there are a lot of Espinosa’s that need to reviewed. With that said, guess what? I’m reviewing another one! This time it’s the Espinosa Member Elite from 2019. I unfortunately smoked through all of mine from last year, but my friend and current roommate Dynamite Derek Dukes gifted me with four of the them to continue the review process. So, I will be coming out with that in a few days and then I think it will be time for another cigar of the week poll. Until next time my Brothers and Sisters of the Leaf, it’s your world, I’m just Smoking in it! - D.A. Mayor

product review
2

About the Creator

D.A. Mayor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.