Lifehack logo

Five Things I learned During COVID-19

By Elizabeth Cui

By Elizabeth CuiPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I’m going to start by saying I am incredibly blessed to have been healthy during this time and don’t know anyone who has died from the virus. My heart goes out to all of those who were affected in this way.

2020 has been a year that no one could have predicted. I’m not going to go into the details about the virus itself, but rather what Covid-19 has taught me.

​1. You don’t have to be productive to be happy.

Some of my happiest moments during lockdown were when I woke up late, made some coffee, and took a stroll. In a world driven by money and productivity, we sometimes get lost in the noise. It was humbling to know that when I’m not marking off a checklist, I can still feel bliss.

2. Sport is part of my life, I’m not just a part of my sport.

With the Olympics being right around the corner when the pandemic hit, this lesson was huge. Being an elite athlete has its ups and downs but one of the downs is that our identities can get tied up with our sport. Who am I without ‘the diver’ after my name? During this time, I was able to tap into the other aspects of life that I, Lizzie Cui, enjoy. I was able to really get in touch with who I am without sport and realized I’m so much more.

3. Family is important.

​I’ve been living abroad for about four years now and it wasn’t until this time that I realized how much I miss my family. I was able to reflect on the precious moments I was able to spend with them and soak in the gratitude. Life is too short to take the time we have with loved ones for granted. I won’t be with them every day, but I will see them again, and when I do I'll be sure to make the most of it.

4. I won’t get fat if I don’t exercise every day.

This may seem like a silly one, but after struggling with eating disorders in the past, this may be the most important lesson. I was able to let go of the ridiculous expectations I held for myself and learned to love me for who I am, even if that means lounging on the couch for a week.

5. Gratitude is powerful.

Over quarantine, I was shown a kindness that I had never experienced before. My boyfriend, Mitch, and his family welcomed me into their home, no questions asked, so that I wouldn’t be alone during the height of the pandemic. Without their generosity, my quarantine experience would have been very lonely. I was really able to be still with gratitude in my heart for the little things like being able to breathe and having legs to walk which effected me in the most positive way. I plan to actively practice gratitude from here on out.

list
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.