Lifehack logo

Five Home Improvement Trends You Don't Want to Miss

A closer look into some of my favorite trendy styles.

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Five Home Improvement Trends You Don't Want to Miss
Photo by Spacejoy on Unsplash

Home improvement is a genre of content that I've seen evolve over the past year. Since lockdown, I've seen a rise in people taking the time to improve their living space. Whether it be hour-long youtube videos or 30-second Tiktoks, you can't deny that new trends have been booming in the home improvement world. Here are a few of my favorite trends I've seen in this community.

1. Decluttering.

My first memory of this trend starts with Marie Kondo urging people to live a minimalist lifestyle. Her catchphrase "does it spark joy" has inspired countless people into decluttering their belonging.

Outside of Kondo's show lies hours of content with people unhauling things in their collections. Beauty gurus have been filtering through their beauty rooms, getting rid of expired, unused, or damaged products. I love how much awareness it brings to consumerism. People have begun to realize that owning an excess can be wasteful and that it is better to donate or be a conscious buyer from now on.

2. House plants.

Having a desk cactus or a lily on your porch certainly isn't new. When restrictions on movement began, I saw a rise in the ownership of house plants. There are countless benefits to house plants that people are now feeling. Plants add life to a room, purify the air, and can be therapeutic to care for. Having a bit of nature in your room when many places were closed was reassuring to many people. The market for these plants is as diverse as the products themselves, coming in many sizes, colors, and shapes.

3. LED lights.

LED lights, also known as Tiktok lights, have seen a surge in popularity on the app. I can see why. They are easy to install, are affordable, and come with plenty of color modes. Their versatility means that you can style them in many ways. Almost always, I pick up on sci-fi notes whenever I see the lights wrapped around the perimeter of the room or furniture. They can get dusty pretty quickly, so I recommend keeping them in an area where you can easily access and clean them.

4. Crystals

The consumer's thought process for owning crystals can vary. It can be for the aesthetic, spiritual reasons, or scientific curiosity. Whatever the case, crystals are beautiful pieces that I've seen displayed in homes. Despite people using crystals for centuries, this wave of crystal focal pieces is one that I've viewed habitually on my recommended pages everywhere. I find that the plant community overlaps with the crystal community due to the appreciation of nature. Both plants and crystals complement each other well, and I love to see them together.

5. Light Catchers.

Last but certainly not least, we have light catchers. It's hard to find a concrete definition for these guys, but here's a summary. They're basically pieces of clear or stained glass that you hang on your window to capture a prism effect. I've seen a ton of these made from crystal quartz, but there are more affordable alternatives out there. These light-fracturing effects can be more subtle than LED lights. They do lack color options, but the convenience of hanging it up and taking it down more than makes up for it, in my opinion.

Things like beauty, fashion, and home design are truly subjective and are personal to the individual. That being said, it is fascinating to look closer at trends in design niches to see what's popular. From what I've seen, nature-inspired movements are gaining a foothold. Being a conscious consumer, displaying plants, crystals, and rainbows in your home all points to simplistic earth-inspired decor. LED lights can have a futuristic look to them which matches today's evergrowing technological advances. Either way, I hope you enjoyed looking into some of my favorite trends in the home improvement space.

house
3

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.