Lifehack logo

Finding Balance In Your Life

A Work- Home Balance

By Shelley WengerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo Courtesy of Canva

Finding balance is, I think, the hardest part of owning your own business. You get pulled in so many directions. You can't focus on working when there is so much more that you have to do.

There are the kids who need you (and you can’t not take care of them). When they need you, you have to walk away from your business and focus on their needs.

Photo Courtesy of Canva

Then, many people struggle with housework. It can be really hard to work on your laptop when you know that you have dishes that need to be done and laundry to fold.

Photo Courtesy of Canva

I can’t really start to work until after the house is straightened up and the boys are playing fine (or in school). Then, I can really dig in and get some things accomplished.

If you are like most business owners who are working from home and are looking for more balance in your life, here are some tips to help. You can do it all- from taking care of your family, your home, and your business.

Make your work a priority. If you don’t make it a priority to find time to work, you won’t get anything done. Many people do best if they schedule a time just for their business so that they know that they will work on it every day!

Hire help. If you are really struggling to get through your to-do list to even start working on your business, you might want to hire some help. You can get someone to help in your business, with your kids, or with your housework.

Though you may not want to spend the money, you might be amazed at how much more you get done (and how much money you can make) when you focus on your business. Spending forty dollars a week on a housekeeper may be worth it when you consider the other option. You may be able to make one hundred dollars during that time you would otherwise be doing housework.

Set goals. If you set goals, both long-term and short-term, you know what you are working toward. You will also know the steps that you have to take in order to achieve these goals and do what you want in your business.

Enjoy your downtime. It is very important to enjoy your downtime. You work hard for your family, so you need to find time to spend with them.

This is also good for your happiness. If you don’t take time to relax, you will be overwhelmed all of the time. You will be stressed, and you may end up getting sick!

It can be quite hard to get any work done when you are trying to balance work, family, and housework. However, it is necessary for your health and happiness.

I struggle with it every day. Some days I can get a lot done, while others I barely look at my work to-do list. I am learning to let go. I work hard when I have the time, but if I don’t get anything done, I have learned that I can’t change it. I am learning to relax and make up for it when I do find plenty of time to work!

Even now, when my children are in school, I find days when I am able to get several pieces written and days when I am lucky if I get one or two pieces written. As long as I keep plugging along, my business is still going strong. My house may be a mess, but my children are taken care of and my business is going right along.

Good luck!

how to
1

About the Creator

Shelley Wenger

Small town country girl in southern Pennsylvania. Raising two boys on a small farm filled with horses, goats, chickens, rabbits, ducks, dogs, and a cat. Certified veterinary technician and writer at Virtually Shelley.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.