Lifehack logo

DIY Room Decor

DIY Room Decor for the Not-So-Crafty

By Miranda KellyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

So is it me or does it take some serious know how & possibly even magic to be able to do some of those gorgeous Pinterest DIYs? Every time I try one of these so-called “Simple DIYs” it turns into some sort of abomination. So through my own trial & error I’ve come up with some seriously simple room decor DIYs that even us who seem to be crafty impaired, can handle.

Make a simple headboard using dollar store materials.

What you”ll need:

  • 3 Foam boards/Presentation boards
  • 4 Seat cushions
  • 1 throw blanket
  • Contact paper
  • Super glue
  • Duct tape
  • Scissors

Start by cutting one of the presentation boards in half. These will be the “legs” of the headboard. Then duct tape the two other boards together length wise. This will be the “main” part of the headboard. Tape the legs to the main part of the headboard, one on each side. Use the contact paper and cover the whole thing.

Now superglue the cushions to the back of the headboard side by side & let dry for at least 3 hours. Once dry drape the throw blanket over the cushions and tape the sides to the back of the headboard. Place behind bed & voila! A cheap & easy headboard that you can change up whenever you want by adding a different throw blanket. Also because you only duct taped the blanket on, you can remove it, wash it & use it for its intended purposes.

Make a bedskirt using a fitted sheet.

This one is insanely simple. Just take a flat bed sheet and drape it over the boxspring or slats (depending on the type of frame you have). Adjust the length to your liking, & if needed duct tape the middle to secure the length. Put the mattress back on & you're all set! I went to a second hand store & bought a flat sheet for $2.00.

Make cute one-of-a-kind art work using an art canvas & deco stickers.

So I went to the dollar store & picked out some wall deco stickers for $1.25 & an art canvas. I arranged them the way I liked and had custom made wall art.

Make bookcase/shelving using decorative wood crates from the dollar store.

I really liked this one since I have opened window like areas on either side of my living room entrance that I had no idea what to do with.

I took three wooden craft crates from the dollar store & secured them to each other & the wall using mounting tape. Then added in books & some cute decorative items.

Add a cork board backing to a desk.

I have a larger desk with a large top piece. The backing of it was pretty drab. I decided to make use of the wasted space by adding cork board to the back of the desk. I bought cork board squares from... where else? The dollar store! I used mounting tape to stick them to my desk.

Make an area rug by attaching two small rugs together.

I wanted an area rug for my room but didn’t want to pay $30 plus for one. So I headed to my go to, the dollar store & bought two small rugs. I then used liquid stitch to attach them to one another. Let them dry for 30 minutes & bam! Area rug for cheap.

Make a quick door using a shower curtain.

My bedroom is located under a stairway which means my closet is where the stairs are. This makes it difficult to have a standard doorway, but I was able to come up with a quick fix. A tension rod, cute shower hooks, & a shower curtain that matched my room decor. Instant Door!

Since I’m one of the least crafty people out there, there’s a good possibility that if I can handle these, then anyone can.

As I dive deeper into my adventure of DIY-ing I will be posting more REAL simple DIYs. Cheers!

house
1

About the Creator

Miranda Kelly

Small city living, lover of animals, video games, pizza & all things nerdy. Aspiring author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.