Lifehack logo

Diabetic Life: tips for getting your insulin pump through airport security

It doesn't have to be a nightmare.

By Jessica FreebornPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
8
Diabetic Life: tips for getting your insulin pump through airport security
Photo by John McArthur on Unsplash

"My insulin pump can't go through the x-ray machine."

"Well, it's not an x-ray machine, but most people don't know that."

"Okay, it still can't go through the machine. It has to be hand checked."

It was my first flight and my first round of airport security that I had to deal with today. I was already getting frustrated. You would think that enough people have insulin pumps that security workers wouldn't stare at you like you're from Mars. I know they deal with a lot of people they see as unintelligent. I know they're stressed too, but there's no need to be rude either.

I had flown enough to know that my pump couldn't go through with my carry-on and couldn't stay connected to me while I walked through the scanner. But I hadn't flown enough for the process to not make me nervous. And a nervous person in security is the last thing anyone wants.

Being a diabetic is hard, and it's hard in ways that some people will never understand. There are obstacles we face every day that the non-diabetic wouldn't even need to consider. Every day activities take extra planning and care to make sure we stay safe and healthy.

Using an insulin pump has helped improve my health, but it does add a whole new device with its own set of problems. If you have a pump, you know what I'm talking about. You need to make sure you always have extra batteries, make sure the pump doesn't get damaged, and make sure you always have an alternative source of insulin in case the pump malfunctions.

Add on to this the fact that pumps are a medical device that can't go through any scanners at an airport, and the idea of flying can become overwhelming.

It doesn't seem fair. But from one diabetic to another, if you have a pump, trust me.

You don't have to be afraid of going through airport security!

Here are some of the best tips I have found to make the process less of a hassle.

Before you travel:

Talk with your pump manufacturer.

I use a Medtronic Minimed pump. I was able to confirm through a simple phone call that this pump cannot go through airport scanners, because the scanners could cause damage to the pump. Find out if your pump has similar restrictions. If it doesn't, you can know this beforehand to save yourself time and avoid awkward airport conversations.

Talk to your doctor.

This might seem obvious. But a little note from an M.D. or N.P. carries a decent amount of weight with airport security. Ask your doctor to write you a letter stating that your pump cannot go through any scanners and needs to be hand checked.

It's also helpful if this letter includes the line "according to the pump manufacturer's guidelines." Handing over this letter can help limit the amount of explaining you will have to do, particularly in this fast-paced environment. It's also helpful if you are traveling internationally. For example, when I traveled to China, I was able to get a note from my endocrinologist translated into Mandarin to have with me while getting through airport security.

Practice what to say.

As silly as it sounds, practicing what you plan to tell airport security can make you less nervous and increase your confidence. (At least that has been the case for me.) The specifics are up to you, but try something like, "I have an insulin pump. It cannot go through the scanners. It needs to be hand checked." Try variations of the phrase and find one that you feel comfortable using. Practice saying it with confidence. This is your pump and your health. You are not going to let them bully you into walking through a scanner with your pump on.

The day you travel

Stay calm.

Again, I know I'm stating the obvious. But even if you don't feel calm, try to act like you are. Try to pull off your best, "I'm bored, and I've done this hundreds of times." Think about it as playing a part. Breathe and focus on the exciting part of your trip: getting to your destination.

Work with the other people in your group.

If you aren't traveling alone, let people in your group help you get through security. For example, don't be the last person in your group to go through security. If you know you have a family member or friend who needs to go through, it can help you feel less afraid of falling behind or getting separated. Plan to have someone in your group offer a similar explanation about your pump. This can help confirm your statement to security.

Celebrate and take note.

After you make it through (and you will), give yourself a pat on the back. Buy yourself a cup of overpriced airport coffee and maybe a doughnut too! It doesn't have to be right away, but take time to note what went well in your exchange with security and what went poorly. I have experienced both ends of the spectrum: times I have gotten through with no problems and times when I have been subjected to full-body pat downs. Note what you said that helped the people at security understand your situation. Note the process you went through. This can help you plan for next time and know what to keep doing and what to change.

Above all, give yourself plenty of grace. You are doing great. Keep taking care of yourself and have a fun trip!

By Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

Original version published on Medium.

Thanks for reading! If you liked what you read, consider subscribing, leaving a heart, or giving a tip.

When I'm not writing on Vocal, I work as a medical freelance writer. You can check out my portfolio here.

If you would like to receive regular updates on my work, please email me at [email protected].

travel
8

About the Creator

Jessica Freeborn

Passionate writer that is enthusiastic about writing engaging, compelling content. Excels in breaking down complex concepts into simple terms and connecting with readers through sharing stories and personal experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.