Lifehack logo

Cleaning While Quarantined

Non-toxic bathroom cleaning tips

By Corey AbreauPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

If you are going stir crazy in the house like I am right now, why not do some cleaning! You mind as well. You must stay put for a while, and you can stay busy and get that home of yours looking nice and spiffy.

I do have a few ideas up my sleeve, mostly because for the last seven years, I have run a small cleaning business. I enjoy cleaning, organizing, and helping others stay up on their housekeeping needs. I used to use all conventional cleaning products until I found out I was pregnant with my second child. I then became completely obsessed with using only non-toxic products. I wanted to try a healthier option for myself, my baby, and my clients and their families.

My go-to is vinegar, water, and essential oil. I like to add a few drops of either lemon, peppermint, or lavender. The oils are optional, but I love it for the pretty smell. Peppermint is perfect around Christmas time, and lavender is great for Spring and Summertime. I pick up an empty spray bottle and get Heinz Vinegar from Stop & Shop and do half water, half vinegar, along with a few drops of whichever essential oil I choose. It works wonders. And it is great for bathrooms, kitchens, mirrors, windows, and it gets rid of those disgusting odors.

A few things to not use vinegar on are granite, marble, hardwood floors, phones, or computers. You need to be extra careful with certain surfaces or objects, so you do not damage anything.

It's a good idea to check the EWG site. They have a guide for healthy cleaning. There is an app for your phone, so when your shopping, you can scan the product. If it scores a (1) or an (A), then you are all set. It means the product is safe to use, and you don't have to worry about any toxic chemicals being around you, your family, or your pets. You will find Heinz white vinegar listed as an (A).

Occasionally, I add some Arm & Hammer baking soda to my vinegar mix, which also scores an (A) in the EWG site. Like the other night, for example. Since being stuck at home, I have taken on a few different cleaning projects, and I cleaned and organized my bathroom with nothing, but a magic eraser, spray bottle of vinegar, and Baking Soda.

Pretty simple, right? That is all it took to get my bathroom sparkling clean! I am excited that I now have a nice clean tub, toilet, and sink. It's good to keep this area of the home clean, especially if you have little ones who bathe in the tub and potty train. Their little hands are all over the place.

Therefore, the bathroom is one of the most important areas to keep clean in your home. It is where most of the germs hide. So be sure you are keeping up with this part of the house.

Organizing the bathroom is also a great idea. Towels can get arranged by size and color. Whatever you don't need out in the open can be put under the bathroom sink in storage containers. Keep anything that your children need to stay away from up high, so they can't reach it. The less you have out, the better and the more organized and clean it looks.

A couple of healthy bathroom tips to remember:

-Be sure to wash your bathroom rugs weekly.

-Replace your shower curtain liner & bath matt if they start to look brown.

-Replace your toothbrush every three months.

-Replace your toilet brush every six months.

-All kid's bathroom toys can be rinsed and cleaned with white vinegar.

-Don't be afraid to look up in the corners of your bathroom – that is where cobwebs like to hide.

I hope this is helpful. Good luck with your quarantine cleaning. Enjoy!

house
1

About the Creator

Corey Abreau

Corey Anne Abreau is a children's book author & blogger. Check out www.cutebooks4kids.com for all blog posts and book events.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.