Lifehack logo

Camping with a Family

Helpful tips and list of what not to forget!

By Amy MartinPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
This is my son and his Father finishing at our family farm.

You know how it feels when you go camping and you think you have everything? You made your list, check it twice, and you still forget things. Well I know that feeling, as a Mother of two children and the one that packs everything! It is so annoying to get things out and realize the most important stuff on your list is not there. For example toilet paper for the out house.

See me and my family go to our family pound at least two to three times a year and we visit a new state park every year. An let me tell you there is nothing worse than getting where you are wanting to be and having to leave again because you forgot your cast iron pan you cook with every night over the fire. Or pay an arm and a leg for what you need. So with this being said I am going to give a list and tips that I hope will be helpful to the families who love camping but have a hard time not forgetting things.

The first thing you need to do is invest in some totes or big trash cans. We use both but we perferre the trash cans for our tent supplies.That just so you don't damage your poles to your tents. It makes it where you can store them straight up and down so they are not laying flat where heavier things can smash them. My husband and I had to learn the hard way once and we had to buy a completely new tent during a camping trip. Which really sucked because it cut into our fun money. So trash cans are the way to go with tent supplies. Another little tip when packing your poles. As soon as you get them all together zip tie them together this helps with not losing them.

Next you need to start a list at least a month to two month in advance before your trip. I know that seem far off but this has help me so much when it comes to not forgetting anything. I probably redo my list several times before I feel I have everything we need to go.

Next tip on my list, purchase pots and pans that you will only use for camping. I have damage some good pans of mine not realizing what a campfire can do to your pans. I also recommend buying cast iron. They are the best I feel for cooking over fires. Just remember to have a lot of cooking spray, keep them dry, and seasoned well. Also after seasoning them keep a paper towel in side them so that no bugs or dust gets in them. Yuck! Buy metal cooking utensils do not go the cheap route and buy plastic. We have melted plastic right into our food before.

If you don't know how to season your cast iron pans here is how I do mine.

If you just bought or used them first wash them very good making sure you get everything off them. Once washed put them on your stove top, turn your burner on, and let them dry. After they are dry take a cooking brush or paper towel with some oil spray, bacon grease, or your favorite oil you like to use. Put a good amount in the pan (I say a couple tablespoons, sometimes more just depends on the size of pan.) while the pan is hot. (Warning if you use a paper towel it will smell like your cooking it, but it will not affect your food or leave a residue on your pan.) Be very careful because you can burn yourself. After you put your oil on the pan turn your oven on 250 degrees. An bake for 10-20 minutes. This is how I do mine and I always have good luck with them. After you do this you should be able to use your pans several times before you have to do it again.

Buy, buy, buy tent stakes! Seriously! We lose so many of them when camping whether we can't get them out of the ground or they do not get packed right away. You can never have to many tent stakes I promise you!

Another thing I have learned over the years. Always! I mean Always! Pack each one of your family members one sweater, socks, pair of shoes and one pair of jeans. I have went on a camping trip thinking it be nice out at night and ends up being freezing out! There is nothing worse than having your family freezing! It makes all of you grumpy an no one can have fun if your grouchy!

My other tip to you pack all your small items first! Why because they are usually what I forget the most then I have to go buy them. Here is a list of 31 most pesky little things you can forget.

1) bug spray

2) sun block

3) first aid kit

4) lantern bulbs

5) batteries

6) flash lights

7) wipes (remember this one, it really comes in handy if you can't wash your hand right away.)

8) pain relievers, and prescribe medication

9) can opener (Buy one just for camping)

10) dish soap

11) dish rags

12) knife (buy one just for camping)

13) paper towels

14) toilet paper ( Trust me! Even if your camping in a really nice campground you be surprised how many times I needed toilet paper.)

15) woman products

16) bath towels

17) shampoo and body wash

18) hair brush

19) hair ties

20) foil for the campfire grate

21) plastic wrap

22) plastic baggies

23) trash bags

24) dish pan (to wash dishes, buy one just for camping)

25) paper plates

26) plastic cups

27) plastic forks and spoons

28) cooking utensil (buy some for camping only)

29) propane

30) oven mitts

30) Pillow (This one sounds really weird, but it has happen to me more then once.)

I hope this list will help you out a lot. It is one I always make each year and it helps with not forgetting any of these small little things you use most during camping.

Now I am going to go over the bigger things that you will have on your list that you think would be the easiest on your list. Don't fool yourself! Just last summer we went on your annual camping trip to the family farm. Went over my list more then once. My biggest mistake? I forgot to look throw all our tent supplies to make sure everything was accounted for. So what did we do? We forgot our tents which really sucked. My Mom had to drive all the way home with my nephew to get them. So please if you can do yourself the biggest favor in the world. Go throw your tent supplies the day before you leave. It will save you a big headache.

Also please make sure you check the rules on firewood at the state park you plan to stay at. One year we did not realize that you could not burn wood from home with bark on it. So to save you money and time make sure you are bring the right firewood with you. So also remember in order to keep our forest healthy be responsible there are bugs out there that can destroy our tree in state park. The more we do the longer we will have these beautiful places to go and enjoy.

So on to our big item list, Some of the things you will see on here are things my family like to take with us. So you can pick, and choose what you want.

1) sleeping tents

2) screen tent

3) cast iron pans

4) blankets

5) air mattress (for our children)

6) cots

7) small fans (for really hot days)

8) extension cords

9) rope

10) tarpes (this comes in handy if your tent start to leak)

11) folding chairs

12) fishing poles

13) tackle box

14) rubber mallet

15) hatchet

16) bikes (for the children)

A tip with the tarpes if you need to use them on your tent for leaking. Make sure you still have ventilation so that air can get inside your tent. This is very important for you and your family.

Well I so hope this can help you with your future camping trips. I know it has help me. It has really been a learn as you go journey. My family and I so love camping and the memories we have made going together as a family. So get your things, pack the truck, and go have a wonderful time in the great outdoors.

list
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.