Lifehack logo

Calling All Colors and More

5 Features My Dream Home Must Have

By Bethany GordonPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1

If it wasn't for lock down, I would never have thought about what I really wanted dream home to look like. It's pretty clear that after 3-4 months in lock down, we would all do anything to get out of the house and see something different for a change rather than your four bedroom walls. Me too! I really appreciate my home now, but throughout the past 3 months I've been scavenging through Pinterest and pinning all my favorite beach house interiors on my different boards. Majority of them are filled color and vibrancy that reflect upon my creativity and personality. But all of the images that I saved are filled with rainbows of pastel furniture and stunning coastal views that you cannot deny as breathtaking. Your probably wondering why I've been looking at beach houses in particular rather than the typical mansion that everyone dreams about. Well first and for most I'm from London, England and if your from the UK or know much about the weather in England, it rains on average 254 days a year here. Another interesting fact is that my Grandma is from Nassau, the Bahamas. I've been there a couple of times and have a few relatives over there that own lavish beach houses within the Lyford Cay area which is situated west of the New Providence Island of the country. So I'm pretty sure by now you can guess into why I'm really fascinated by beach houses. I've always been wanting to own small private beach house that has a wide range a bright colors that compliment each other and the nature around the house. However there are five particular features that I've been looking into that my beach house must have in order for a this beach house to be my dream home. Obviously, these five features that I'm about to share with you will eventually become a reality. Just give me two years and on this day in 2022 I will be here giving you a virtual tour of my dream house with all these five features. I promise.

1. Patio Overlooking the Ocean

Patio overlooking ocean is a must. This is because you can easily choose a wide range of colors for the furniture that will immediately go well with the view of the ocean. I'm not an interior designer but I've seen a lot patio areas by the sea in real life and on TV (during lock down) that have the most craziest color coordinations but still go well with the scenery and the ocean. Here ares some few more examples below:

2. White Wooden Bedroom

The classic white wooden interiors never gets old of beach houses, especially if you have the sun beaming through the windows. The reason why the interior needs to white is to add any color form to room so I can switch color coordination at anytime. One week my room might be red, pink and white then next week it might be purple, blue and white. With the white wooden floors as well you can easily add any color rug to match the room to give some character as of course the whole point of this colorful beach is house is to reflect my creativity and style.

This image shown above does not have wooden ceiling but still has bright neutral tone to the background to switch up the color decor anytime.

The best part about this image above is the different forms of patterns that are on the tables and chairs. No need to add a zebra print flooring when you just add a simple chair with the same pattern that can easily uplift the room. It can also be cost effective too if you look on Ikea or target if your in the US. Alongside the patterns I can also add rustic features to the room as well that can showcase a variation of form and style. This will also be good for any souvenirs that I keep from a holidays or having a few small antique items that maybe passed on from family generations. This can also add personal touch that is setimental to the room.

So I hope you understand why the floors and ceilings of the bedroom must be white and wooden. Its to change the decor whenever I feel like it. One characteristic that you probably already figured about me is that I like to change and switch up things every once in a while. Instead of choosing one color of the rainbow, I choose all but just at different times. So my bedroom must be white. Hopefully you understood that phrase.

3. Plants are Everything

All my relatives in the Bahamas have some sort of palm tree in the house that just makes the house feel tropical. But not too tropical. Adding exotic plants and trees or even having a tropical jungle outside my dream home is an absolute must. I'm not sure whether it's just me or maybe you can relate too but if I'm going to have a house in tropical climate then my house must have a similar appeal to climate. Of course I don't want the house to be over loaded with trees that it will then attract insects and weird bugs to the kitchen and living room. But just a few scattered around the house and then a few more within the outdoor garden area would be perfect. It would also be fascinating to see a few lizards crawling on the evergreen leaves at 5am in the morning when I'm about to set off a morning run. But they must not come inside the house. Also any form of palm tree goes well with any bright colors to really set a vibrant appeal for the setting of the home.

4. A Swing Chair By the Ocean to Read Books

Noticed, I said "Swing chair by the ocean". This ties in with the first feature of the patio with an ocean view. However the patio with an ocean view must have a swing chair. This particular swing chair in the above image is a good design for sitting comfortably and reading a book. Reading books are something we all need to start doing again as they are great way to escape from the outside world and enjoy our own creativity and imagination when we read to ourselves. Its a habit I that I need to start getting back into as well but during quarantine I imagined the best places to read books. Honestly the best place would be by the ocean where you could hear the soothing sounds of the oceans that will relax your mind and be fully engaged into what your reading. Now going back the swing chairs, there not just comfortable but can be very stylish as well. Either a white, blue or wooden swing chair that can easily be adapted to color change by just changing the pillows or blankets of my dream home will be ideal.

5. Built in Shower Lights in a colorful bathroom

The final feature that I've always wanted is having built in lights within the bathrooms of my dream house. Lights must be in all bathrooms so anyone using it can feel like their showering in a million dollar bathroom at a hotel. I've been to quite a few open houses of apartments before and I'm always impressed when I see bathrooms that have built in lights around the walls, underneath the bath and around the edges of the mirror. The image above showcases three different colors that go perfectly together to bring the exuberance that room showcases. Not only does the bright strip of light along the shower makes the bathroom so fascinating but the space of the shower too is incredibly huge. I would stand in there all day singing along to Christina Aguilera if I could. Imagine going for a swim in the ocean then hoping into a light up shower that's the same size as your current en-suite right now. I cant wait until 2022.

Once again, the gold lights coming through lining of the mirror and bath goes perfectly with the green, yellow and red of the bathroom floor.

Another example of an amazing bathroom with built lights that ties in with the bold three pastel colors.

I've broken a few promises of the years but I've kept many and I'm definitely keeping this promise. My dream home will be a reality now that I've put words into a vocal story (not words to paper) so its definitely happening. I also hope if you are reading this you've found some inspiration to creating your dream home by finding out a few color inspirations that you could do innovate your dream home or your current home. One thing that I hope you take away from this is to always style and create your dream house that reflects upon you. Be imaginative, be different and be inspired by others to create your dream home. Because they say dream comes true.

house
1

About the Creator

Bethany Gordon

Fun, quirky articles to keep you entertained. Instagram: hellobethanygordon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.