Lifehack logo

Buying frenzy

When you're looking for one thing and end up buying almost everything you see. The hassle of buying online goods and dealing with the ads to buy more things.

By Laura mcleanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Buying frenzy
Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

I am not someone who stays on social media sights a lot. I'm not on there everyday all day. I'll check it once in a while here and there. But when I do get on, It is usually Facebook. Other than that, I google everything. I play a lot of games too. So that is what is going to be the places I see all the ads.

When I want to buy things, I am googling everything. I'll check and see the different prices. Making sure I am price comparing. So I am getting a reasonable price for what I want to buy or what I am looking for. After I google the things I am looking to buy, I start getting pop-ups for the things I searched for months before.

When I started to search for things I was looking to buy but didn't get that object that day, I would start getting pop-ups saying the price has dropped or it will say it's going fast buy now. There are too many pop-ups that it's hard to remember what they are or what they are saying.

I started looking into getting a bed frame for my mattress. As soon as I googled bed frames the next day, I started getting pop-ups for bed frames. I didn't buy the bed frame right away. I made sure to such around first. But just because the ads keep popping up, I did end up buying a frame.

Next week, I went to the store and found a simple frame to lay my mattress on. It can be used for a Queen or King. I love it because if I decide to buy a more significant mattress, I don't have to buy another frame. It's lovely knowing that this one buy can be used for a long time. It's almost the best buy I have made in a long time.

I brought the frame home and showed my boyfriend. But the only thing he said was it's your bed. If you like it, then keep it. It ended up sitting in my car for a few days until I asked him to come and get it out of the car. Then I wanted to put it together but had to wait until the new mattress was shipped to my house.

After I bought the frame, I went on google looking for a new mattress too. I figured if I was getting a new frame, why not put a new bed on it too. Why use an old mattress that I have had for over 14 years. I deserve to have a new bed too. Like always, I went back to google. Looking for what I wanted.

I start googling good cheap mattresses. Google starts pulling up all kinds of different mattresses. There were so many I didn't know what to do. I wanted them all. But didn't have the money to buy them all. I had to pick one. So I picked the one that was at a reasonable price and looked comfortable too.

I ended up ordering from the Walmart website. When I finished putting the order through, Walmart said I would not receive the mattress for another two weeks. It is what is when it comes to ordering online. But the mattress showed up on my doorstep three days later.

I was asleep when the mattress showed up. But when I woke up and went downstairs there, it was in my kitchen. My boyfriend said that when he woke up and looked out the door, the massive box was sitting next to the door. He was unable to get out the door. He had to push the mattress away from the door with the screen door to bring it into the house.

So when I woke up there, it was. I could not wait to open it. It was like Christmas day all over again. I wanted to take it to the bedroom and unwrap it right away. But I had to get a cup of coffee in me before I did anything. I did have my boyfriend and son take the mattress out of the box and carry it up the stairs until I was done drinking my coffee.

When I was done with my coffee, I headed up to my room. My boyfriend and I had to vary my old bed out to the garbage before putting our new bed together. My old mattress was so heavy, and I hated having to move it. But we finally got it out of the house and down to the road.

By the time we were done wrapping the bed so the garbage man would take it, we were so tired and wore out. It was a struggle to get the old mattress out of the house. But we could not stop, and we went back to the room.

We started putting the frame together. It was so easy putting the frame together. I picked a good one. It only took a half-hour to just get the frame done. Then we moved onto the mattress. It was crazy how this mattress was wrapped up and fitted inside a box to ship to me.

But wall-mart had it packaged pretty good. This box was at least 7feet tall, and it was not that big around. When we finished getting the box off from around the mattress, we saw the mattress was rolled up like a swiss roll. I couldn't believe it. It was hard to believe this oversized mattress fit inside this 7foot tall box and maybe 12'x12'.

It was rolled and wrapped in plastic. It did make it easy to carry to the room and get it on the frame. After we got it onto the frame, it was time to cut the plastic wrap around it and let it unroll. It was like a spring-loaded bed as it unrolled. After it was finished unrolling, we had to get the plastic out from under the mattress. That was a little difficult.

Then I started seeing ads pop up on my computer for gaming routers. We had been looking for something to make our wifi signal stronger. As soon as I saw this, I showed my boyfriend, and we went to get one. There was no way we were waiting a week for this to come in the mail. So we went to the store and picked one up.

When I start seeing things online to buy, I buy the thing I see and more. I can't just stop at one thing. There is nothing worse than going online to buy things. The reason being is because when you buy it online, you sometimes don't know if you're going to get the right size or not. Especially buying clothing online.

But I would like to wish everyone good luck with buying everything online. Have a wonderful day. Thank you for reading the things I write about. I appreciate the support from everyone. Please hit the heart if you enjoyed this story.

social media
1

About the Creator

Laura mclean

I would like to test my writing skills. try and see if I can make it any better. When I was in middle school I had a published pome I wrote. It's been so long I can't remember the title or the name of the pome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.