Lifehack logo

Building A Schoolie

Living off Grid

By Anthony TerryPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
2

So almost a year ago now the world completely changed. People lost work and their livelihoods. I was one of those people who lost their jobs early on in this pandemic. Instead of falling into a depression and wasting all the time I now had I decided I would buy a school bus. This had to of been one of my craziness purchases thus far in my life. I had a vision of a home I wanted to build inside of this new bus I had just purchased. I got to work right away tearing out the seats which by the way is way harder than it looks.

When I first stepped onto the bus my first thought was "What have I just bought". But once all the seats, wall panels, and ceiling panels were out I was able to tape out my floor plan on the ground and my vision began to come to life. After that point I only had a few other times I questioned this project because of the difficulties I ran into. Before this point, I had never had a big construction project. I had helped my dad with small projects around the home but nothing of this size. This is also such an unusual project I had to learn to make things up as I went. The next step after I got everything tore down to the frame of the bus was to frame my new home.

You may notice the floors are now red. That is a layer of paint to help prevent the metal from rusting. Framing everything was harder than I first imagined because if you know anything about building you want things to be square. However, on a bus, there are no square points to go off of to make everything line up correctly so I just did my best and went for it. I wanted this tiny home to be fully off-grid so it has a full solar power system on board, a freshwater tank, and two dirty water tanks; one for the toilet and one for the sink and shower.

I have fully running water to my toilet shower and sink. I also have hot water and an A/C if you are connected to shore power. I installed a propane cooktop and heater. There is a fridge and I have lots of storage in this tiny home. I have two full-sized beds, one in the back and one is the couch that I built to pull out into another bed. This bus even has a 40" tv. It no longer feels like a school bus and much more like home. Here is what it looks like 6 months later.

In all, this was a great way for me to spend my six months of not being able to work and go out into the world. I hope you enjoyed my short recap of this project. Everything from counters and drawers to the bed was all custom built by me, which is crazy to think about considering I hadn't built much before this. I enjoyed doing it learned so much about electrical, plumbing, and building in general. Maybe someday I'll tackle another project like this. I don't know if I will live in it full time but I am excited to take it on my first trip. If you have a dream I encourage you to take that first step as crazy as it may seem and just go for it.

house
2

About the Creator

Anthony Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.