Lifehack logo

Bringing Wanderlust Home

Dreaming up my perfect home

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
17
Bringing Wanderlust Home
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

It might sound crazy, but one of my dreams is to win the lottery, and I have big plans for when (not if, when!) I win big!

Ironically, one thing that’s pretty low on my list of priorities is one of the things almost every lottery winner seems to do: buy a huge fancy house. If I’m being perfectly honest, I’ve never pictured myself owning a house.

I think about my parents’ and grandparents’ generations, and how they all followed the same pattern of getting married and having kids young, buying a house, and staying in the same town their whole lives, and I just don’t want that kind of life for myself.

Besides, I’m not a fan of all the bullsh*t that comes with owning a house. Like paying for a mortgage and all the taxes. Or being responsible for taking care of everything that breaks. Or having an HOA that tries to tell me how apparently there are rules for how I can keep my place that I live in and pay for.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t dream about my perfect home space. I‘d love to have a space all my own that I can do whatever I want with. A home that’s an escape all its own and allows me to live my best life.

Who’s to say I can’t be free to design my ideal home without a budget limit or concerns of a mortgage and taxes? Money and time are fake social constructs anyway.

I have every right to dream. To dream up an over-the-top, stylish, unique space fit for the artsy, world traveling, Sagittarius Queen that I am, and I have some epic ideas for my vision of that home.

So what would my perfect dream home be?

I’m like a stylistic chameleon; I like a lot of different styles and aesthetics, and I take inspiration from several different sources, from tropical to historic to modern.

Part of me wants something beachy or on the ocean.

Part of me wants a boujee New York City penthouse.

Part of me wants something woodsy or earthy, what I like to call "polished rustic".

Part of me wants something modern and futuristic.

And part of me wants something inspired by a royal palace.

By E. Diop on Unsplash

Sounds crazy, I know. How do you create a home that’s clean, bright, sleek, modern, fancy, unconventional, cozy, and a mix of several different styles all rolled into one?

Well, quarantine has made my imagination run even wilder than usual, so challenge accepted!

My vision includes:

- Lots of neutral colors throughout like white, black, and gray.

- Plenty of blue too, since it’s my favorite color

By Chastity Cortijo on Unsplash

- Lots of natural light

By Kari Shea on Unsplash

- A cozy bedroom, with a big soft bed…

... soft, cozy furniture...

... and some cute, twinkly lights

- A big, Instagram-worthy closet and vanity, with a big full-length mirror

- A sleek bathroom with a big bathtub

- A big open kitchen, with a huge fridge and plenty of organizational space

- A home gym, with a full set of weights, machines...

By Risen Wang on Unsplash

...a yoga space...

By Jamie Ginsberg on Unsplash

...and an aerial silks apparatus

By Seyi Ariyo on Unsplash

- An outdoor lounge with some dining space and a grill

- A tropical pool

By big.tiny.belly on Unsplash

- A garden

- At least one cherry blossom tree in my yard

By Veronica Benavides on Unsplash

- And of course, a Sagittarian home wouldn’t be complete without a creative space where I can indulge in all my creative outlets; I imagine it would look like a combination of a theater, an art gallery, and an office.

I’d have a gorgeous baby-grand piano, and a whole stash of other musical instruments.

By Jasgleidy Duarte on Unsplash

I’d buy all kinds of artwork from independent artists, and even commission some artists to create some original pieces for me.

By Alp Allen Altiner on Unsplash

I’d love to be able to have performances in my own home, both in-person and virtual. It’d be the perfect setup for a career as a performing artist.

By Alexander Dummer on Unsplash

It’s fun to dream about creating my own home. Still, I can’t say I’m completely interested in owning a house and being stuck in one place, because wanderlust is just part of who I am. But creating a dream home that I’d never want to leave almost makes me reconsider.

I’ve thought about running away more as an adult than I ever did as a kid. I’m always feeling like I want to escape, get out, and go somewhere far away, because life is just insane, especially now.

But a home space is an escape all its own. There’s freedom in one’s home, just like there is in traveling the world. And when you can make your home everything you want without anything holding you back, why not bring that sense of wanderlust home?

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this article, I’d appreciate it so much if you shared it and left a like and a tip!

house
17

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.