Lifehack logo

Boil Boil Toil and Trouble: Spells for a Modern Day Witch

A few of my favorite spells from my Book of Shadows for the everyday witches.

By Lilli BehomPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
5
Image belongs to Tumblr user Seahavns. Please check out her blog. 

I'm opening my Book of Shadows for everyone and sharing my favorite spells I've collected over the years. From amulets to hexes, these are all easy spells for witches of all levels.

Book of Shadows Blessing

Image courtesy of Google Images

Write this in or on your Book of Shadows for an added boost:

"Hearken as the Witch’s word

calls the lady and the lord

moon above and earth below

shy’s cool blue and sun’s hot glow.

In this right and ready hour

fill these pages with thy power

may no unprepared eye to see

the secrets which trusted be.

To I who walk the hidden road

to find the heartstone’s calm abode.

Guardians from the four directions

hear me and lend thy protection

may these truths of earth and skies

shaded be from prying eyes.

But to the witches whose map this be

may the way be plain to see

and through all the coming ages

may we find home in these pages

so mote it be."

Protection Amulet for a Loved One

Image courtesy of Google Images

  • Three candles (two white, one pink)
  • Consecrated amulet (something they carry everyday)
  • As you light the candles, pass the amulet over each and say:
  • 1st candle (white): "To protect them from harm"
  • 2nd candle (pink): "To protect them from stress"
  • 3rd (white): "To protect them from illness"

Place the amulet on your chest over your heart and visualize love and protection pouring into the amulet. Chant three times: “may my love keep this charm to protect them from that what would do them harm. Cast off ill and let evil be seen. As my will, so mote it be,” then press to lips to seal with a kiss. Perform on a full moon for full potential.

Karma Hex

Image courtesy of Google Images

Focus on the person you wish to hex and say:

"See the cruelty and the pain that you have caused once again

I turn the tables three times three

Bring light to your actions I will be free

When light fades and dusk comes through

the pain you caused will come back to you

I say this spell to Karma tonight.

I am witch; I stand and fight."

(x3)

If you wish, you can burn their image or name. This is best done on a full or new moon. For those who are really mad, January 31st, 2018 is a super, blue, and blood moon, and also a total lunar eclipse. A hex or spell on this night will be VERY powerful.

Sachet Spell for Anxiety

Image courtesy of Google Images

  • Smokey quartz
  • Rose quartz
  • Lavender
  • Peppermint
  • Spell on a piece of paper: “I move from within, my shine makes me free, I can let go and just be.”

Place all the ingredients in a sachet including the spell. You can change the spell and add a sigil, if you would like. Carry it around with you or leave it on your altar.

Sleeping Spell

Image courtesy of Google Images

Place a cup of water by your bed, enchant it with the phrase “shall I be restless or anxious, the water will absorb such energy.” Keep the water by your bed all night. DO NOT DRINK. In the morning, dump the water down the drain saying “restlessness I bid you farewell tonight I shall sleep well.” Repeat as necessary.

NOTE: This water can be used in a curse since it is negatively charged and endowed with your energy.

Revenge Spell (No Karma)

Image courtesy of Google Images

Focus on the person you wish to hex and say:

"What was brought down upon me

Be returned but times three

Head to toe, skin to nerve

May you get exactly what you deserve"

If you wish, you can burn their image or name. This is best done on a full or new moon. For those who are really mad January 31st, 2018 is a super, blue, and blood moon, and also a total lunar eclipse. A hex or spell on this night will be VERY powerful.

Lost Pet Spell

Image courtesy of Google Images

  • Candle of any color
  • Pets favorite or most used toy/thing
  • Green aventurine or clear quartz

Burn candle at your altar/sacred space with the pet's toy/thing placed in front of the candle inside of an aventurine or quartz circle. As the candle burns, chant:

"my pet *name of pet* is lost away, bring *him/her* home today, protect *him/her* from any harm, but therefore returning *him/her* right to my arms" x3

After you are done chanting, leave the altar with the candle still burning until it is fully gone.

Rid a Friend of Negative Energy Spell

Image courtesy of Google Images

  • Black candle
  • Lavender and rosemary essential oils
  • Lavender and rosemary
  • A cup of water (for offering)
  • Large pentagram

Place the cup of water at the corner of your spell, dress the candle in lavender and rosemary essential oils and place it in the center of the pentagram, sprinkle the lavender and rosemary in a counterclockwise circle around the candle. Light the candle and say:

"With this candle I banish all negative energy and demons in *friend’s name’s* life, may their life be happy and free of strife, may their minds be happy and free, this spell is cast. So mote it be."

Let the candle burn by itself.

how to
5

About the Creator

Lilli Behom

I have no idea what I'm doing but I'm always down for spooks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.