Lifehack logo

An Antique Shop Christmas!

Affordable and Fun.

By Emilio (Sleepy) SalinasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Credit: Hidden Treasures: Mall & Antiques

I have always found it hard to figure out what to get my family for Christmas. I'd either get a stupid "As Seen On TV" thing that would break within the week but was fun for a while kind of thing, or I'd just go for the easy way out and get a gift card. I always felt like a jerk that didn't care about anyone when I sprang for the gift cards, and I bet that's what everyone else thought too.

But this year, It's going to be different, because I have found the perfect solution for my little Christmas problem.

Antique Mall!

Credit: Tripadvisor

My father is actually the one that showed me this place earlier in the year, before all the 2020 stuff really piled on. I was really confused to see his truck full of, what I thought was junk. He asked me to come along because he was going to need the help where he was headed. So I road along and it was not a far drive at all to what I though was going to be the junk yard or goodwill, ended up being a mall, an antique mall.

He told he was going to put his stuff in this store, because apparently, "One mans trash, is another mans cash." My father said laughing his butt off.

I helped him set up his little corner and then I looked around and saw the magic and wonder of it all.

It's a mall full of all sorts of antiques, and every corner of the store has something different. It's like an all you can eat buffet, except you can't eat anything. You can only look and sometimes touch, ok so it's more like a strip club then a buffet but you get what I'm saying.

Going through every inch of this store was like going through a random grandma's house. Every ten steps was a new section that individual renters put up and throw their treasure into for people to browse in awe or buy with pleasure.

Credit: Invaluable

I saw a old metal and wood snow sled, it looked so dangerous but oh so cool and vintage-y. I found a vintage Polaroid camera and it look so perfect and pristine that I didn't even want to touch, but I had to and it was much heavier then I expected. Then all of a sudden the man that was selling the camera came around the corner and gave me a heart attack yelling, "If your not going to buy it, don't touch it!" It almost made me drop it but good things I got cat like reflexes, I'm also a gamer so... yeah I got the moves.

Anyway this type of place is perfect to go shopping for family Christmas presents, or anyone for that matter.

All you need is the most basic interest of any person, and you can find something that they will be happy to unwrap on Christmas morning.

From arcade games to old golfing gear, to vintage coats and dolls, this store is literately so big and dense that you possibly can't get through all of it in a single day, but every time I go, I always try.

So as for my Christmas mission, I already know who my family is, so looking for things that will surprise them and will make them smile is going to be a piece of cake. You know you found the perfect gift when even you can't stop smiling at it, being happy for them and knowing you're the perfect sibling... or offspring.

So If you're not sure what to do for presents this Christmas, go to google, and search for antique mall. I would share what I found for my family but I don't want to risk them finding out if they ever read this before Christmas. Though I promise you, most antique shops will not break the bank, and you will find something amazing for everyone on your list.

vintage
1

About the Creator

Emilio (Sleepy) Salinas

I am a person with hopes and dreams, just like you... and we are all dealt a hand of cards when we start this life. Remember... not everyone knows how to play that game... so learn how to play the game and know what your hand is worth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.