Lifehack logo

A Creative Weirdo and the Room Redo

With a little help from Mr. Kate

By Reese MariePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3

I didn't think I would end up here. I don't know what exactly led me to believe it, but I thought I would be able to move out after graduating from college. I wanted to leave home and to start a life on my own, but I was presented with two insurmountable brick walls, the first in the form of student loans and the second in the form of the COVID economy. I spent hours everyday on the LinkedIn job board with little luck. I know I'm not alone in this struggle. I didn't think I would end up here, but here I am. Living at home.

I didn't feel like the same kid who used to sleep in the white bunk bed. I was in a whole different stage of life. I was a young professional now, if working a part time virtual job and picking up the odd freelancing job while running an Etsy shop counts as being a young professional. I felt that I had grown up quite a bit since I hung a blue ship steering wheel decoration on my wall with thumb tacks. I had experienced a whole lot of life since I put the hand me down green desk in the corner so I could have a place to do homework. Simply put, I was an adult still living in my childhood room, and something felt off.

I though about redoing my room. It was a fleeting thought at first, but it would come to fruition sooner than I had originally anticipated... thanks to Mr. Kate! Speaking of a return to my childhood, I had watched Mr. Kate's videos as an eighth grader discovering the world of YouTube through DIY and hair tutorial videos. I rediscovered her amazing content at an ideal time, and her videos inspired me to take on my room redo with creativity and a little weirdness.

https://www.youtube.com/mrkate

Mr. Kate is an interior designer with an enthusiastic upbeat attitude. Her subscribers are known as creative weirdos, a label I embrace with pride! In her room transformation videos, she scores deals at the thrift store, repurposes old furniture, and makes plenty of DIY projects. This was exactly the inspiration I needed! I set out with a tiny budget but an extensive knowledge of how to be thrifty, thanks to the hours of Mr. Kate I had watched. Here are a few ways I incorporated the lessons I learned into my project:

Being thrifty

In one of Mr. Kate's videos, she visited a thrift store and picked up a rug, a bed frame, a lamp, a chair, throw blankets, curtains, artwork, and a whole lot of accessories to decorate the room with for about $150. That's a lot of stuff!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHzktkbjDOE&list=PLxrcW2MAluZJqK73hZOspnj0Pm0uTdHju

I've always been a big thrifter as well, so I took this inspiration and ran with it. I found a brand new bookshelf, still in the box, for $15. I also picked up a few storage baskets for about $4 each. And I even got thrifty with the paint! I didn't have a specific color in mind, so I picked a color from the mistint section. This is paint that they sell at a steep discount because it wasn't quite the right color. I was lucky enough to find two cans of a beautiful yellow.

Repurposing

Mr. Kate can always take an old dresser breath new life into it. She finds new creative uses for a pieces of furniture instead of getting rid of them.

I took a page out of her book and dug up this beautiful rattan shelf. This was sitting in my basement for years! I'm so glad I was able to find a use for it because it's so pretty. I also took my old dresser with lion's head knobs (which were pretty freaking cool, but not the vibe I was going for) and painted it white. And, this one might be the weirdest yet; I sawed the legs off of an old dresser then pushed it against the window to create a window seat. Now, it's a lovely space to sit and stare out the window and contemplate life.

Getting creative

And a little bit weird. For example, I made a light fixture out of an old basket. Weird but fun! I don't think I would have had the motivation to take on this room redo project without Mr. Kate's content teaching me and validating my creative weirdness. I love the positivity in her videos and the way she recognizes the importance of having a place that feels like home. For me, it was important to have a space that felt like my own, a space that reflecting the season of life I was in now. Redoing my room helped me feel like it is my own space. So, big thank you to Mr. Kate!

And now, a few photos of my room project:

Before:

After:

Thanks for reading! You can read more about my interior design journey here: https://peachypresses.weebly.com

house
3

About the Creator

Reese Marie

"That the powerful play goes on and that you may contribute a verse"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.