Lifehack logo

7 Non-Regrets

Things you won't regret you did in life

By Jennifer RPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
7 Non-Regrets
Photo by Madison Oren on Unsplash

American life is, "Go go go!" We don't give ourselves time to slow down and "smell the roses." Believe me, when I tell you, those pauses are needed. They may seem pressing at the time. You may feel that those extra minutes or seconds are precious to your current task and you can't spare them for anything else. But ... you do, and you can.

Here are some things I know you won't regret spending the extra time on. Things you will likely never look back on and think, "Gosh, I wish I hadn't done that." Here they are!

1) Take time to pet, talk to, and spend time with your pet. Our pets are here for a very short time. Shorter than we realize, often when it's too late. When your cat or dog interrupts you to ask for pets or attention, give it to them. Give them a pet, throw the ball, tug on the bone, give head or chin scratchies, because when you can't anymore.

2) Give your partner the extra four to six-second hug they need and deserve. As I said earlier, our lives are GO GO GO. Take a few seconds to give your partner a good seven-second hug - and I mean a good one. Wrap your arms around them and Actually hug them! Don't just stand there thinking about something else. Lean into the hug. Think about that person the whole time you're hugging them. Think about how much joy they bring you. Remember a time you did something fun together (maybe share in that memory for those few seconds). Remember when I said our animals don't have long on this planet? Well, ours isn't much longer in the grand scheme of things. Don't let the little times slip past you.

3) Telling your boss at work "No" when needed. We work to live, we should not live to work. Work is not everything. You are allowed to say no. You are allowed to say "I have as much on my plate as I like at this time. I have to decline." Period. No sorry. Don't be sorry. You said no. That's a complete sentence.

3a) Don't let your job take advantage of you. Or anyone for that matter. Don't let anyone tell you to stay late and not pay you overtime. Don't let anyone "ask" you to do something as a "favor". It's your JOB. You're there to make a paycheck, not do favors. They aren't your friends, they aren't your family. I mean ... unless one of your coworkers IS your friend and you're helping them out, but ... that can get out of hand too. Don't let people walk all over you. That will not be something you regret later in life!

4) Take care of yourself. No one is going to do that for you. And, honestly, no one should have to. You're an adult (I know, when did THAT happen?) You have to take care of yourself now. Your parents took care of you when you were a kid. Your spouse, coworkers, boss, and partner, are not your parents. It is not their sole job to take care of you. Now, in the case of a partner/spouse, it is part of their job to care for you, but, if you don't care for yourself, why is that their issue? You bathe yourself, brush your teeth, eat on your own, all those things. Take care of yourself. Be mindful of when you need a break from things. When you need someone to sit and listen, when you need advice, or when you need alone time.

4a) Use your voice. Sometimes you need something from someone so you can care for yourself. For example, you need people to leave you alone because you're overstimulated and need time to wind down. You have to voice that. Say something. You can't expect people to read your mind, no matter how close you are or how well they know you.

5) Buying that super soft and comfy blanket you passed in the store and thought, "OMG, this is so FLUFFY!" Buy the damn thing. You're going to use it. You're going to love it. It's going to make you happy. Follow the dopamine!

6) I love going to movies. It's something my husband and I enjoy doing together. Every time we go, I get a slushie. I love slushies! Sometimes I'll get candy or popcorn (other times I buy some cheaper and sneak it in). But I always get a slushie! It's worth it! They're delicious! Maybe you're not a slushie person. Maybe Peach-O's are your JAM! Get them... enjoy them with your movie. It's a treat. It's a joy. Yum yum!

7) Get the fancy seasonal coffee or tea. It's only around for that season. Sure, it'll likely be back next year, but it's not next year. It's this year. Get the fancy drink. It's delicious. You're going to take a sip and do a little dance because it's yummy, it's what you wanted, and it's what you deserve!

There you are. Seven things (technically nine) that I'm almost POSITIVE you're not going to look back years later and think, I shouldn't have gotten that drink/ got that snack at the theater/ hugged my loved one for an extra four seconds and shared in a treasured memory/ told my boss no, I'm not coming in on Christmas Eve because you need something done last minute/ bought that awesome blanket that everyone in my house fights over now and have to get six more ... because they are amazing!" You're worth it. Life is short. Do it. Make it happen. Feel joy, peace, and love!

list
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer R

I was born in New York and raised in South Florida. I enjoy writing as a hobby and a means to transmit knowledge and wisdom obtained over the years. I love animals - they're better than humans. I can't stand it when people are late.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.