Lifehack logo

5 Unexpected Uses of Aloe This Summer

From makeup removers to hand sanitizers, here are 5 ways you can use aloe gel to your advantage this season.

By Malvika ShethPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

The temperature is starting to rise across the globe and that can only mean one thing: it’s time for new beauty solutions to the issues this new season brings about.

Aloe is one of the most cooling items to use, and I’m sure in this post, you’ll have discovered at least one (if not more) new ways to use it this season! Specifically, I used Banana Boat’s Aloe Soothing Gel in all of these.

Without rambling on too long, let’s get to 5 ways aloe can be your saving grace this summer!

1. Makeup Remover: Pure oil makeup removers may not be the best route this season. You’ll want something light, cooling, and effective. That’s why mixing a bit of aloe with a lighter oil like coconut oil, and a bit of honey is the perfect solution.

2. Reduce Undereye Puffiness/Dark Rings: With all those late-nighters we pull during the summer season, we’re bound to deal with a few under-eye issues. Luckily, applying a drop or two of aloe gel under the eyes in the morning can help revive you! Aloe is known to repair and moisturize skin, and relieve puffiness. Often, the area under our eyes is one that needs to be taken care of since it’s so sensitive, and we tend to forget to treat it gently.

3. After-Wax cooling relief: After waxing, one’s skin tends to be a little irritated. Ever since social distancing rules began, I knew I had to find a way to take care of hair growth at home—I taught myself not only how to thread my eyebrows but also wax my upper lip! After waxing, I would notice little bumps start to come up and a slight burning sensation. This is why it’s important to apply something cooling to reduce the irritation or redness after waxing, and aloe gel serves as the perfect solution.

4. Hand Sanitizer: If you are choosing to go out (safely) during this time, it’s important to carry hand sanitizer with you at all times. If you’re having difficulty getting your hands on some, try making one from home with the following ingredients: rubbing alcohol, aloe gel, and an essential oil like tea tree oil. Not only does the tea tree essential oil ensure that the concoction smells good, but you’ll never find yourself in trouble when stores start running low on supply of hand sanitizers.

5. Mosquito/bug bite treatment: For the longest time, my mosquito bites have been swelling up to reach the size of mini pumpkins. I couldn’t figure out what it was for the longest time, and just recently, I found out that I actually have Skeeters Syndrome! I’ve tried so many different creams on my mosquito bites to get rid of the itchiness and reduce the swelling, and the only thing that really seems to work for me is something as gentle as aloe or aloe gel. Any chemical based creams I try to apply really do more harm than help, which is I’m so grateful for aloe’s soothing feel—I don’t have any urge to itch the area. It’s a no brainer, really!

Summer comes along with a few new beauty issues, but I’m sure a few of these will come in handy as you tide through the season. All in all, aloe is one of nature’s blessings that has properties great enough to solve a variety of beauty problems, and by no means are its uses limited to what I’ve gone through in this post. In fact, these are just the ones that are tried and tested personally, but I’ve heard of so many other amazing uses as well!

XO,

-MS

product review
1

About the Creator

Malvika Sheth

Fashion & Beauty Content Creator | Consultant | Talent

IG: www.instagram.com/stylebymalvika

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.