Lifehack logo

5 Lessons Learned From Writing Online For 8 Years

Push through all boundaries even though it's hard!

By JS dev RayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

Writing online can feel empowering and scary at the same time! In this post, I want to share the 5 lessons I learned from writing and publishing my work online in the past 8 years.

1. Not Everyone Wants Your Help

Most of the time, I write my stories to help others. But sometimes people who read my story don't want my help.

Or don't like my solution to a problem they don't have.

Or the solution doesn't match with their problem.

There are a lot of things people potentially don't like about your post.

But hey, pull up your shoulders, you did your best! You had the best intention and that is all that matters!

2. People can be very supportive

During my time writing online! I've always been empowered by people who are supportive!

Receiving claps, gaining new followers, or having your work shared by others elicits an exciting feeling. This feeling is so awesome!

But I learned that this should never be overshadowed by reactions of people who don't like your work.

So always celebrate every positive experience you have.

Because those positive sparks are gonna push you further! They keep you motivated every time again.

3. Not everyone agrees with you

It happens to everyone who publishes their work online. People that don't agree with what you tell in your story.

And they don't have to 😉

But when they let you know in the comments, realize that some do this with a positive mindset, some don't.

When they sound very rude, aggressive, or provocative, focus on the facts they are telling, don't focus on that emotion.

You don't want your comments filled with your bad behavior! Fill it with facts, realism, and optimism above anything else!

4. Write with Karma in mind!

Always keep in mind how someone can interpret your content. If people are in a bad mood, they are likely to interpret your words in that same way.

If you always write your content or comments in a friendly, positive or optimistic way, people are more likely to write in the same way. 

I believe in "what you reap what you sow". When you give positivity you will get that back. If you give negativity, you will get negativity back.

This is Karma right!

5. Start before you're ready

I still remember when I was in college, my grammar sucked. I'm a native English speaker. But both Dutch (yes I'm from the Netherlands 😉) and English were terrible. But Later on, I realized I liked writing.

I started to push it online even though it was bad as hell! Until people started commenting on that.

So I started to search for tools that could help me improve my writing. Up to this day, I highly trust Grammarly to help me to write "good enough" tutorials and blogposts. 

Sometimes I ask people to proofread my blog posts. Man, I learned so much about that!

Thanks, Daniel Roxas 😉

If you tell yourself "I will wait to publish my things online until I'm ready". Well dear, wonderful human being, that moment is never gonna be there!

So publish what feels good enough and ask people around you for advice or use tools like Grammarly to write better.

Because you will only become ready when you start writing and publishing.

Today there is nothing easier than putting your writings up online!

Thanks

I hope that my lessons will help you start or go further in your growing process like I do every day.

If you have questions or suggestions, please write them down in the comment section below.

If this post made you publish your first story, please feel free to share them with your comment. Or when you want to share your lessons, feel free to do so!

list
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.