Lifehack logo

5 Apps to Better Your Life

Use your phone to your advantage and stop letting it control your life.

By Noah NelsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
5 Apps to Better Your Life
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Virtually everyone in the world today owns a cell phone.

For many of us, it controls our lives, sucking us into social media and addictive games. But it doesn’t have to.

It’s all about our mindset.

We can either let our device control us. Or we can take control over it. The choice is in our hands.

These 5 apps can better your life.

1. Robinhood

Do you invest in the stock market at all?

If you don’t, you should. I began late last year and should’ve started long before then. I chose Robinhood because of its popularity and credit.

Plus, with the app, you can buy fractional shares of companies as opposed to many other investing apps. So if you want to own a piece of Apple or Tesla, but don’t want to buy a huge share, you can buy a small fraction of it.

That way, your a very small part owner of that company. How cool is that?

Thus far, I invest in many well-known companies like Coke, McDonald’s, Disney and others. It’s been working well for me so far.

I can’t wait to see what the future holds.

2. YouTube

Who doesn’t love watching videos, right?

I know I do, but are you watching the right videos? Sure, reels and TikToks can be fun, but what about your education?

You should always be learning something new. YouTube has the power to virtually reach anything you ever wanted to know.

Do you want to learn to cook, play guitar, roller skate or do taxes? YouTube can help you out.

Spend your time watching these educational videos, apply that to your life and watch it change for the better.

It’s help me so far. I know it will help you too.

3. eBay

Everyone loves to shop.

But with eBay, everyone is on the hunt for a bargain or that rare item lost to history. These are so many people who have turned eBay into a six figure business.

Sure, it takes a lot of work, but you can earn money right from your phone.

Just post your items, describe them, and just wait. Ship them when they’re sold, and that’s it.

I plan to begin my eBay business soon. Then I will join the wonderful community of buyers and sellers, the preservers of our great items.

Whether it’s books or sports memorabilia, you’re sure to sell in the market that works best for you.

And earn you some extra cash.

4. LinkedIn

We are our own personal brands.

With that said, this app allows us to build our professional lives from the ground up. We are able to network, find job openings and grow our companies.

Instead of working against one another and competing, LinkedIn allows for all of businesspeople to come together as one, to not only make our companies better, but our lives too.

I’ve used mine for college so far, and I can’t begin to describe how much it’s helped me. I know it will be beneficial for you too.

5. Goodreads

Who doesn’t love a good book?

Goodreads allows you to find great books based on your likes, read history and more. You can read reviews, rate books and become a part of a large reading community.

There’s nothing against reading. So instead of being alone in the process, Goodreads allows us to help one another out to find our next best read.

I’ve found some awesome books on there over the years. I know if you use the app wisely, you can find some cool books too.

Closing Thoughts

Our phones will always be a part of our lives. They might as well have a positive impact.

Take these suggestions with a grain of salt, but they have all helped me better my life so far. I know they will help you too.

You just have to have the will to get started.

list
Like

About the Creator

Noah Nelson

I’m currently pursuing a Master of Science in Journalism at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. If I’m not reading or writing, I’m probably at a concert or playing acoustic guitar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.