Lifehack logo

4 Things Consistency Kills

A simple way to get rid of anything

By LATANYA N CHATFIELDPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2021
14
Photo by Maria Orlova on Pexels.com

I'm not the best person to talk about consistency but I am the best person to talk about consistency at this time. I coupled consistency and discipline together because I hate what they both require, but love the results they produce. Consistency has long been a thorn in my heel and I had to make up my mind to rock with it no matter what was going on in my life. Here is a list of the 4 things that being consistent killed for me.

#1 Bad Habits

I embarked on a journey to add some consistency to an area in my life that I deemed a weakness. It had been a weakness for a very long time and I had become very comfortable with it. This thing did not want to leave me as much as I didn't want it to leave, but it had to go and when I started the journey to pursue a more consistent lifestyle. Within a week I found that a few bad habits had gone away that I never asked to go away. When a change is made in one area of your life, that change begins to infect, yes infect other areas in your life. Especially something as important and impressionable as consistency. Think of it as when you begin a new workout regimen. Some things have to shift around so that you can focus on your body and that means dropping the bad habits that got you there.

#2 Excuses/ Unproductive Reasons

Photo by Alex Green on Pexels.com

This one I love because the people that activate this addictive illusion are the ones still looking for their results. Whatever makes a person feel validated in not getting their objectives or tasks done beats me even though I've participated heavily in its seemly truth. Consistency brings the bulldozer to dig out the truth behind excuses and forces you to deal with the rawness of a resultless life. It's important to take a hold of the bulldozer or you will find yourself back in the place of trying to find the discipline to be consistent once more. Nothing wrong with starting again, we all have, but why not make whatever it is sweeter by dropping the excuses? Never mind, just start to be consistent and you will not want to make an excuse/reason to not be consistent. The results will inspire and drive you to never fix your lips to say what you can or are unable to complete that is in alignment with your goal for consistency.

#3 Procrastination

By Pedro da Silva on Unsplash

I think about Beyonce's "Single Ladies " song just with procrastination attached to the hook. All PROCRASTINATORS, now put your hands up! I imagine that we would all procrastinate lifting our hands into the air. If you have ever been a procrastinator then you need no introduction to what you accomplish as a participator in this lifestyle. Procrastinating can be seen as a bad habit but many don't see it as a habit at all. So, I'll place this as a number that can stand on its own.

Rolling with consistency will definitely place this strong behavior on ice. I know for a fact that consistency is the kryptonite that you need to get going and produce results. One thing that consistency does not like is something standing in its way of being that thing that will help you get the results you desire.

#4 Struggling to Have Great Life Experiences

By Harry Cunningham on Unsplash

I'm going to get really specific on this one because this one changed my life. I was always late and proud of it. You know where I'm going. This attitude of lateness was wreaking havoc on my life in many areas, but I was oblivious to it until I started to consistently be early. My kids told me I had to because they were tired of being late to every activity we'd signed up for. There was a whole new world on the other side! People looked at me with smiles. Invited me to mid-morning coffee breaks ( this exists). I was less stressed in traffic on the way to dropping my son off at school. I'm telling you I felt like I had been missing out on a major life upgrade. When other people found out I was intentional about my arriving at the destination on time. I was invited to more places! Who would have thought this would happen just by taking out the excuses that I wasn't a morning person. Changing a bad habit of being tardy therefore causing the atmosphere to wherever I was going to run accordingly. All this caused the everyday experience to be something I looked forward to.

Can You Feel The Consistency Coming On?

I'm not a life expert, but I do know that if you want to make any kind of changes in your life. Being consistent either way you look at it will change everything around you. I have chosen to be consistent in many things throughout my life and I have seen and felt the results in the favor of the change. What is something you want consistently to kill? Let me know in the comments. Consistency is always better when you have a community around you.

how to
14

About the Creator

LATANYA N CHATFIELD

I love to write all genres and teach my kids that they can do and be anything at any time in their lives.

Check out some of my other stories, short reads, thoughts on my podcast website: https://lovingyourselftolife51725778.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    I agree. You have to keep things consistent. Having systems in place rather than goals has helped. Procrastination comes from not having a clear purpose. When we engage in work that we are passionate about; you do not need any outside motivation to just get on with it; even on those not so great days.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.