Lifehack logo

2018 and 2019: The Years I Won't Forget!

You wouldn't believe what happened.

By Tracy LawsonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
This is an old Red Oak

2018 was a very memorable year of 'accidents' and 'incidents'. This was supposed to be a good year of good tidings and cheerfulness. A whole new chapter to experience. This wasn't the case with my family and I. January presented us with Listeria from an ice cream recall.

As the year progressed, we experienced so much tragedy involving a dead tree and it's limbs landing on our roof, mast, and meter box. Faced with displacement for a month until they could repair the roof and meter box. It occurred twice in this year. I begged the insurance company to have this tree cut and they wouldn't even touch it. I spent a lot of time asking for help. Anyone to take this tree down. But not one single person offered to help.

While that tree stood, none of us got any good sleep, worrying about the tree falling on us, a tree limb falling onto the mast, roof, and meter box. It was constantly on my mind, all the time.

We would constantly be on the edge with each other due to the sleep deprivation. We would constantly rush through our daily routines, rush through cooking meals, and dreading on leaving the house because we would worry about our sweet bearded dragon staying home. We were so worried about him and he would pick up on that.

2018 was something to remember and in 2019, the worst happened. Due to desperation and needing the tree cut, I hired a tree cutter who claimed he knew what he was doing, was insured, and I didn't have to worry about the tree because he 'knew' what he was doing.

This was the result of his cutting of a tree limb that landed on the electrical wire I insisted on having put down so he could work. He refused to listen to two women.

Since this man caused this much damage, the insurance company would not fix the damages. They held the man accountable and said that he was responsible for the house damages. They also said I should sue him which is what I intend to do once I get the money to sue him. He has put me into so much debt, it's digging into my food budget. Severely.

I could have continued to have a temporary tarp on my roof or spend the money from a loan to fix my roof and cut this tree down professionally.

When I finally got a professional to cut the tree down, the feeling of stress and a great relief came to us. The three of us felt the unease melt away. No more limbs falling onto the house. No more fear of sleeping at night, spending time in the bathroom, and in the kitchen cooking and baking. No more fear of going outside and heading into the backyard. No more fear of worrying about being displaced unless it's something else. No more fear of losing food.

2018 and 2019 taught us both something. We learned who are true friends were and who our fake friends are. I owe $1,200 plus so much more.

This was the tree before cutting.

I have a word of warning though. If you have English Ivy and it's on your trees. Get rid of the English Ivy. It can wind up costing you $800 to $2000 to cut the tree.

This is a tree killer, a destructive force in it's own, it will invade your home, your yard, everything you have in your yard, and it will smother your living plants. It's so invasive that it's so hard to get rid of and kill. You have to be on top of this. Take it from me. English Ivy killed my red oak and I saved two trees from it. I killed what I could. I certainly need more Ivy Killer. I don't like using these chemicals, but to be on top of my game and ahead of this killer, I must do what I have to do to save my trees and my yard.

For the life of your beautiful plants...don't plant English Ivy unless you intend to control it. It's very quick, sneaky, and the battle will rage on until it's dead.

Tree I saved. The leaves are all dead. 100% dead.

house
Like

About the Creator

Tracy Lawson

Hello everyone. I'm a science fiction, fantasy, horror, real life author. I enjoy writing poetry as well in my spare time. I'm happy to share my stories on here with the hopes of getting out there.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.