Lifehack logo

20 Lifehacks That Will Change Your Life

Life is hard, but there's no need to struggle with simple, everyday tasks. So, why not make it easier with these simple lifehacks that will change your life for the better?

By Jus L'amorePublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like
Source: The Family Handyman

Life isn't easy. Everyday, we face minor hurtles, small challenges, and pain-in-the-ass problems that cause us to waste time, arrive late, and mumble inappropriate curse words out of frustration.

Granted, some of these lifehacks are ridiculous and not at all useful for some people. I mean, listen, if you really can't separate a yolk from its egg white, than perhaps using an empty water bottle to suck up the yolk like a vacuum is useful for you. However, for me, that would not only result in more time wasted, but also create a totally unnecessary mess of wasted plates, bottles, and sticky egg everywhere. That is why I was adamant in choosing the lifehacks that can truly be helpful, compared against the thousands upon thousands of BS recommendations listed on the internet. I previously wrote a piece dedicated strictly to lifehacks every parent needs to know, but wanted to take it one step further and offer helpful tips to everyone.

I once read that you should invest money in things that will save you time, because time is one thing you can't buy more of. Wise words, most likely written by some rich person with cash to spend; but nonetheless, an intelligent proclamation. So, without further adieu, utilizing these lifehacks that will change your life with cost you a little, but save you a ton of time.

Cheap and Easy Ingredients

I literally had an "Ah ha" moment when I saw this lifehack. Do you know how often I throw out vegetables that I've purchased for a recipe or omelet thinking I will use the leftovers for other meals, yet never get around to it? Well, with this nifty idea and during my weekly shopping trip, I can visit the salad bar, select the veggies I need, pay by weight, and not feel guilty about all the wasted food and money I've tossed into the garbage.

Clothespins for Prosperity

Source: Make Magazine

So long hammered fingers and broken nails, with just a clothespin, you can hold your nail in place while securing it into the wall. Brilliance, pure brilliance.

One Cup, Two Microwaveable Objects

Source: Reddit

I've seen lifehacks like this before, but never really took it into consideration. That is, until I started research for this article and had to make lunch for both my starving children. Reheated soup was on the menu for lunch, and instead of making the dangerous decision of who would eat first (and ultimately be named my favorite child), I placed one bowl on the glass and the other on a mug. To my surprise, they both came out evenly hot! Not only did I save a minute and 30 seconds of my life, but also a potential WWE smackdown between a brother and sister.

Ice Pop Paradise

Source: Guff

Until you have a child who is old enough to eat ice pops, you will never know the true struggle of this meltdown, of both popsicle and tiny human. This lifehack 100 percent works, and has kept my children's fingers clean for two years and counting.

Color-Coated Keys

Source: White House Crafts

I live to spend money on crap. No, seriously, I do. When I saw a bag of those colored, rubber key covers on sale for $2.99, I thought about my overly packed keyring and said, "I MUST HAVE THOSE!" Then I got them, and couldn't figure out how the hell they got on to the key, and basically flushed $3.00 down the toilet. With lifehacks like this one though, all you need is some paint or nail polish and viola, an easy way to distinguish keys apart from one another.

Kernel-less Popcorn

Okay, so I didn't have the pleasure of trying this trick yet, but you bet your bottom I will next movie night. I mean, it makes sense, doesn't it? By simply creating a slight opening on the bottom of the bag, you can get rid of all those stupid, stubborn kernels without losing popcorn. Genius!

Wine Coolers

Source: Do You Bake

Any lifehacks to do with keeping my wine cold is a favorite hack of mine. Seriously though, how much does it stink when your ice cubes melt, leaving your wine watered down and warm? By freezing grapes and using those instead of ice cubes, you not only preserve your wine flavor, but also end up with a yummy, alcoholic snack.

When Life Gives You Lemons...

Source: Perdue Chicken

The only lemons I like squeezing are into my Tito's and soda; and even then, I do a shite job of it. Despite my love of purchasing unnecessary tools, a lemon squeezer is one I do not own. However, I do own about five different tongs, and now I know why. To squeeze more lemons.

Easy BBQ Decor

Source: People

As an avid pool party host, I adore all things BBQ decor. With this lifehack, instead of wasting dough on multiple condiment dividers, why not use an empty six-pack? Not only does this do the job, but it's also an adorable decoration and conversation starter.

Going Up

I have no idea if this works, but I'll tell you what, I cannot wait to try! Someone, anyone, go press all the buttons in your elevator and let me know the results. Unless it didn't work, then no need for the feedback. Also, I'm sorry.

Straw Stabilizer

Source: ThriftyFun

Dudes! I always do this. You should too. Not only does is this one of the lifehacks I cannot live without because it keeps the straw from rising, but it also keeps it from getting caught in my hair! Because, for God knows why, straws love to get tangled in my bleach blonde locks.

Not-so-Permanent Marker

Source: Reddit

Don't you just love when you or your child accidentally uses permanent marker instead of an erasable or washable one? Asked no one. Ever. Luckily for you, I just gave you the motherload compilation of all marker-removal lifehacks. Seriously, this will likely be a cleaning hack you wish your mom taught you. However, just for the safety of your belongings, I would separate your markers anyway. Just sayin'.

Nutella Sundaes

Source: Tastemade

We LOVE Nutella in this house. Like LOVE LOVE LOVE. And even though we very rarely have enough left in the jar to do anything with, when I saw this, I had to try it. You see, my husband will sit there with a knife and carve out every last smear. Anyways, before his hazelnut massacre, I added my low-fat frozen yogurt to the remaining Nutella and had myself a good ol' snack! Tasty and innovative lifehacks, bravo.

Bobby Pins for Everyday Use

Source: How To

I sometimes feel like I am the only one who realizes how amazing bobby pins are. Like, for real, they can do everything a paper clip can do and more! That is why, when I saw this lifehack, I jumped out of my chair to try; and found out that it works perfectly to keep annoying, half-used toothpastes rolled and in place. Now, I have one more reason to love my bobbies.

Paperclip Placeholders

Source: For the Mommas

There is nothing quite worse than losing the end of your tape. Okay, that's a lie, there are a million worse things in life; but still, it sucks when it happens. Just like my little bobby pin-toothpaste lifehack above, try using a paper clip (or bobby pin) to keep your tape in place.

A Delicious New Cleaning Formula

Source: Unsplash

Not only can Coca-Cola be refreshing, tooth decaying, and diabetes raising, it also can remove blood, rust, and clean your engine! Thanks to the carbonic acid in the soda, it can indeed remove and dissolve stubborn stains.

Maximizing Space

Source: Rebel Circus

How cute is this lifehack? Even people with the largest kitchens somehow run out of room when making an ingredient-heavy meal, and this cutting board in a drawer trick is just the answer! So, to whoever thought of this nifty trick, kudos to your creativity in both life and in the kitchen. Too bad you can't patent kitchen lifehacks you have to try.

Bathtub Playpen

Source: Lifehacker

For all my parents in need of another lifehack, here's one for you. Get yourself a laundry basket, place a non-slip mat on the bottom, and fill that bad boy with water, toys, and a baby. A super convenient and mother-approved way to keep all of baby's bath toys in hands-reach. Just, please, whatever you do, never leave a baby alone in the bathtub, even for one minute.

Not Just for Sunglasses

Source: Travelous Bags

Traveling these days requires us to pack about 967 wires. I swear, between my husband, children, and I, there are enough chargers and other wires to drive a mother mad! This neat lifehack suggests using a spare glasses case to keep everything organized when packing to travel, and I couldn't agree more.

Crispy on the Outside, Soft on the Inside

Of all the lifehacks that will change your life, this one takes the cake. I love BLT's. However, I hate when the toast of my BLT is so toasted and crunchy that is makes a mess of crumbs everywhere and slices open my mouth. That is why I had to include this brilliant hack, which recommends placing two slices in one slot to ensure softness on the inside. Simple yet effective, with no injuries or added clean up. Boom!

list
Like

About the Creator

Jus L'amore

Sometimes offensive yet mostly sweet. Always honest and often vulgar. I'm a wife, MILF, and everyone's homey. From trends and sex to mom life and fitness, I tell it how it is and not how it should be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.