Lifehack logo

10 Way to Use Ice Cube Trays

Ice cube trays have a lot more uses than just making ice cubes.

By Abigail BrookePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

With freezers that make ice now, people don't really have uses for those ice cube trays anymore. At my house, we completely threw ours out, but now I have at least five because of all the things you can make with them. Seriously, after reading this, you will go to the store and buy ice cube trays.

1. Coffee Cubes

I love iced coffee! Pour coffee into those ice cube trays, and when you make your actual coffee in the morning, put the coffee ice cubes in to make it cold. Your coffee won't get watered down and you will be left with even more coffee!

2. Freeze and preserve fresh herbs In oil.

Put basil, parsley, mint, and many other herbs in an ice cube tray, pour olive oil on the top, and freeze.

When you're ready to cook chicken, steak, veggies, eggs (anything really); Just pop the frozen olive oil herbs on a skillet. This makes cooking just a little easier, and you'll have readymade spices, ready to go whenever you need to make something.

3. Stocks

I always have leftover chicken stock. Pour the leftover stock into ice cube trays, freeze, and use to finish off sauces, gravies, and stews.

You can also do this with beef and veggie stocks.

4. Fruits/Veggies

Freeze fruits and veggies to add into smoothies or shakes for an extra boost to add healthy things to your drinks. This could also potentially help you not need to add ice into your drinks to make them more smoothie-like. It takes away that watery taste, and adds more flavors into your drinks.

5. Yogurt

Freeze yogurt and add to shakes or smoothies for extra protein. You can freeze yogurt with no flavor or add your favorite fruits to add my flavors to your drinks.

6. Coffee Creamer

You already know you can put coffee cubes into you coffee to make it iced, without the water downed flavor ice cubes would add.

Freeze your favorite coffee creamer in ice cube trays and add to your coffee. This will also make your coffee drink iced without watering it down, and it adds your creamer in.

I don't drink coffee that often, so my creamer always goes to waste, but when I freeze it. I can store my creamer and make it last much longer.

7. Apple Yogurt Dog Treats

My puppies always love treats (what dog doesn't?), but I don't always want to give them something from the fridge (my food) so I find that these simple dog treats are so easy-to-make and last for a long time—perfect for those hot summer days!

Just add some apples to the bottom of the ice tray, add some yogurt, and finish off with a little bit of water. Freeze and treat your little pups withs some yummy treats.

8. Baby Food

I'm not a mama, but I am a nanny. And I know how difficult it is sometimes when your baby is fussy and just wants food. This is so smart! You can grind up your own fruits and veggies, pour into an ice cube tray, freeze, and thaw for your baby. Quick and easy, and can be pre-made, and stored for a long time.

9. Sweet Treats

I don't know about you, I am always craving a sweet treat, but I don't always have them in the house when I want them the most.

Poor some melted chocolate into an ice cube tray, add some fruit, and finish off with more chocolate.

Melt some white chocolate, add some nuts, finish off with more white chocolate.

You could also do this with caramel, peanut butter, or even marshmallows.

10. Flavored Ice Cubes

We all know ice cube trays were made for ice cubes. So it only makes sense for me to end this with "fancy ice cubes." You see a lot of people add lemon to their water, but one of my favorite things to do is to add fruits to water. Freezing things like strawberries, blueberries, lemons, watermelon, limes, blackberries, cucumbers, will make them last longer and add those flavors to your water. Not to mention it will look so pretty!

food
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Brooke

I found this place to get the thoughts out of my head

oh…and I love food!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.