Journal logo

You Should Always Carry a (Good) Pen With You

3 good reasons to do so, even if you don't write.

By The Rogue ScribePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Credit: Pixabay

Lighters, chapstick, hot sauce, pocket knives, and lucky coins.

These are fairly common things I hear people bringing with them on a daily basis. Adding to the everyday carry list, I've seen people carrying small mirrors, handkerchiefs, make-up, and of course guns. (at least here in Texas.) Everyone leads different lives so the needs will vary per individual.

It's a known fact that your daily choices reveal a lot about who you are and what you do. Small habits make up the bigger picture.

Regardless of where you find yourself or what you do for a living, I believe everyone should carry a good pen along with their cellphones, wallets, and house keys at all times.

I don’t mean those cheap plastic pens that come in packs of 20. (You know, the ones that melt and spill their ink all over your belongings.) And I don't mean selling your house to afford one either.

I mean something that makes a statement about you and the importance of your messages. The kind of pen that draws the focus towards what you’re writing. Whether it’s something small like the tab at a restaurant or your next business partnership contract. Here are a few reasons why.

1. It's Pleasantly Refreshing

Based on the short list of items I put above, out of 100 people I've met on a daily basis, maybe 3% of them carry a good pen with them.

I don’t recall the exact date when I began carrying mine, but I do remember the feeling. My personal interactions have been astronomically more interesting ever since. Just to give you an idea, I’m littered with tattoos and back in the day people would often compliment me on those.

Now, that topic becomes almost non-existent when I'm getting ready to write anything down.

”Oh! You have your own pen? Whoa… This is different.”

I guarantee you it can change the course of anyone's day. It's kind of like seeing a wild animal crossing the road. It'll make people curious about you, but at the same time lets them know you mean business. Hence, you should pick one that matches your personality.

Choosing a pen to carry is like choosing an outfit. Just like a nice wristwatch or any other piece of jewelry, I believe you’ll want something that’s going to speak to who you are. But if you think pens are limited to just writing things down, think again.

2. It's Endlessly Helpful

Maybe it's just my fortune, but I always find myself among a group of people who want to write something down without a single pen in sight. As they're scrambling to open up the Notes app on their smartwatches, I've already got my pen ready. Their reactions are priceless.

But what if nothing needs to be written? This is why I personally love EDC pens.

I'm a huge fan of the solid weight they carry. They feel important, so I'm in no rush to lose them anytime soon. Which is a good thing given that everyone is constantly wanting to hold mine for a little too long.

Some of my favorite ones are bolt action. Mostly for aesthetics, but also for the cool clicky noise they make when I’m getting ready to use them. I can announce my presence with the flick of a thumb, just like the spurs on a cowboy's boots.

The materials range from aircraft-grade aluminum to titanium and even brass. These are great in case of emergencies. In fact, I got caught in a tough spot in the middle of a poorly lit parking spot and my car's battery needed a boost. I couldn't see anything but thankfully my pen has a flashlight built-in, allowing me to get the task done.

Speaking of this, some of these have bonus features making them perfect for self-defense, glass-breaking, and some even have fire-starters. You can also get a couple Parker refills that will last you for years. So maybe find one that has mutliple uses for yourself as well.

I swear, if these things could flip eggs and make my bed, I'd be set for life.

3. Your Words Matter; Your Pen Should Too

There are countless options for you to choose from when it comes to how you want your written words to be delivered. Some pens are slimmer, more durable, come in different colors, patterns, and much more. There's always one to match anyone’s needs and character.

However, aside from all the bells and whistles, I feel the most important reason is that they should write well. Because despite how cool they might look or feel, the message is the real driving force behind any pen.

Still, the writer in me would suggest that you make the small investment in a solid pen. From a psychological standpoint, by placing value in a tool that will be of good use for not just you but also for someone else that may need it, then its purpose becomes just as valuable too.

There’s a reason it’s mightier than the sword. I’m just glad to live in a time where a pen can be something that’s sought after and can be just as classy as it is powerful.

Write on.

advice
2

About the Creator

The Rogue Scribe

Writer. Narrator. Author of 'The Art of Patience, Gratitude & Courage'.

Challenge the world, go rogue with me, and subscribe to support my wordsmithing.

To read my uncensored articles, head over to: https://theroguepath.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.