Journal logo

Writing To Instrumentation

Off The Cuff

By Z-ManPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Leed's House (From "Manhunter" Soundtrack) - The Reds

Spooky, no doubt. It's 10:01. Had another sip of black coffee, waiting for my pumpernickel toast to be done. Wishing I could be with that girl. Have to clean the apartment. Have to continue editing my book(s) so that I'll have a source of income I can maintain without having to kill myself doing things that are a chore in perpetuity. Tired of thinking I have chances with people when all it amounts to in the end are opportunities that are held out of reach because someone is "unavailable". I just don't see the reason to continue; I just don't see the reason to stop trying; I just don't see the reasoning behind what it is that I am supposed to do, in right. Perhaps it is the curse of the little things along the way. But it really doesn't matter how "tired" you get, because things do not change. Anything that involves emotions that are supported by acquirements from the outside is a losing game.

Heartbeat - Red 7

Watching "Manhunter" was an interesting experience. Like other situations in the past, in their own ways, it was interesting to have grown up on "Silence" and glimpsing aspects of this movie as if there were a Clarice Starling existing in the future of that universe--which, of course, there would be. The mix of chemicals in my brain--whatever it takes to make our experience of things--allowed in wonderful visions to my sight. It's like when senses click, and you sense a scene or composite of existence beyond what you feel is the extent of your perception.

"Sometimes I understand it every clearly."

* Now I've got to 'butter and jam my toast *

Rhythm of the Night - Corona & Weight of the World - Erasure

Got my coffee and toast. Not going to go back and play the songs in their entirety. The names of the songs shall speak for themselves here. "The" is an article, but is "of"? It's funny how both songs contain the same elements, isn't it? That's Youtube and my listening habits for you.

Let The Music Play - Shannon

Question?: Answered.

The Universe is cheeky, I know this first-hand. It is quite annoying how it works, really. Like when a car is constantly there when you are trying to cross the street. Every. Damn. Time. This song is awesome. It's got one of those beats and flows to it. I love the 80s. I wasted my twenties going to a damn country restaurant, more or less, because I liked the people there. Goes to show that you shouldn't put stock in humanity when they are, at their roots, "doing their jobs". I'd rather people be honest with me. Especially when I go somewhere regularly for years. I wish I had had the strength to travel to 80s bars and clubs somewhere!!

Graham's Theme (From "Manhunter") - Michel Rubini

Now...for the grand finale! It certainly has that feel to it (the song), doesn't it? Probably because I grew up on movies, I like to think some aspects of their operations could be, in fact, real. Like closing credits, for example. Although I know that life goes on, I like to imagine sometimes, when I'm listening to music that touches me in that way, that the camera is filming me, and interspersing my life with a credits roll. Even when I am doing something mundane, like _____ ___ _______. Okay, so I don't want to be specific there, lmao. But still...even in my times of despair, there is a light to be found in that idea: that things are more glorious than they may seem, and that film, itself, really is a love letter to so much about life. Even if some things are not quite what our hearts want them to be.

Singing off with a post-credits anthem in:

U Got The Look - Prince

I'll let you continue the story for yourself.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.