Journal logo

Writing Daily And SEO

My 411

By Mariam NaeemPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
18
Writing Daily And SEO
Photo by Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

People always say that writing daily is the key way to building up traffic on your site and also getting more experience.

Is it? Or is it just about posting at the right times, using the most efficient key words and posting at regular intervals?

What’s My Deal?

So personally, I’ve been struggling to fit in the time to write. A busy schedule based around a 9–5, the gym, errands, trying to write, trying to build a side hustle and trying to sleep and it feels as though there aren’t enough hours in the day to be able to accomplish this! I’m writing this when I’ve come home from work while cooking my dinner, an hour before I have to get ready and run to the gym. I want to relax for a moment.

Wake up earlier, some say. Been there, done that, prefer my beauty sleep. As a full time employee and a woman who spends most of her evenings in the gym, I have to allocate my writing to two days now, the weekend, but I still only schedule it around errands and the gym. While I used to be a morning person, I noticed over time how fatigued it had been making me and the hair loss due to having a body that couldn’t function and repair itself properly had been taking its toll on me. So no more early mornings.

Stay up later, others say. Again, been there, done that. Occasionally I’ll stay up past my scheduled bedtime. I’m a 32 year old woman but yes, I schedule a bed time for myself, mainly because I need eight hours of sleep. So my target bedtime is eleven pm. I manage to get a lot done in that time, you’d be surprised. I’ve even managed to get writing done before then, but staying up after? My body won’t allow it every night. It’s so used to a particular routine that I now wake ten minutes before my alarm, my body starts slowly shutting down around half ten, with incessant yawning and moaning that I’m tired. So the conclusion for that is, once or twice a week is fine, any more than that and I’m done for.

What Is SEO?

SEO is search engine optimization. SEO is a way of improving visibility to your site or articles/blog through the use of key words and content quality.

I’ll be honest, I’ve never given it much thought in my previous pieces. I’ve never been too concerned with visibility of my writing. I do it because it’s a release for me. But now, I’m enjoying having people give me feedback on my work. I like it when someone tells me a short story of mine creeped them out, or made them feel something. We all like to be told our work is good and does something for someone.

By Alizée Baudez on Unsplash

So What Will I Do?

Well, I’m going to make the time to learn more about key words and optimization so that I’m positioning my work in a better light, pushing that work to BE SEEN. It is time I take the plunge into a world that seems so full of learning. But it’s nothing new to me. As my sister runs her own online jewellery and gemstone business, Illumination Designs, I’ve been watching her over the last seven years to struggle and learn and grow as she has built her business and researched hard into key words etc that helped her build her customer base and get more visibility on her shop.

I have nothing but admiration for my younger sister for her creativity and her persistence to learn something that seemed so outlandish to the both of us at the start. I’ll be honest, she’s picked it up faster than I have, mainly because she has a little more time on her hands. I’d like to think I’m not daft.

Do I Begin With Writing Daily Or With SEO?

This is a bit of a tricky one for me. Writing daily at the moment with the routine I have is next to impossible, and learning about SEO would also consume quite a fair amount of time. So I will have to adjust my weekends and my timings again for my schedule. My plan first will be to try to create more content. That means writing in whatever crumb of a moment I get. I can always dedicate an hour in the week purely to learning about SEO, which I could probably do on the weekends around my writing time.

That sounds plausible and relatively achievable. Unsure if my concentration levels will agree but I’m up for the challenge!

Why Am I Telling You This?

Well, accountability, my dear chaps! We have to hold ourselves accountable and to set a goal sometimes you must put it out there into the world for others to see. That way if you think you may be slacking you can focus on the thought that maybe someone out there is waiting to see if you’ve progressed.

I’ve found that dedicating a whole day to writing, thinking about writing, procrastinating then writing is good. You sit yourself somewhere and hope for the best. Get a blank document opened up on your laptop. Put a pretty notepad and pen next to you, to aesthetically please your mind, because we need to feel our environment is not just purely about function but also looks nice. We have to feel comfortable. If the words don’t come right away, just be patient. Do other tasks on your laptop until said inspiration strikes! Hype yourself up on caffeine. Then get ready, get set, WRITE!

Will I Try To Write Daily?

I’m finding this to be a challenge I’m happy to take up. I plan to try and scrape in a paragraph a day at least. 100 words a day, maybe. I need to get the word vomit rolling before I consider things like SEO. As I watch the trends in writing constantly change, from cars to cryptocurrency, from babies to blasphemy, from poetry to politics, I’m amazed by how fast you have to be able to keep up with these trends.

But my focus will remain on writing what I can do. I don’t plan to watch the trends. But I do plan to take note when something crops up that I’m able to do. You have to be able to write something you’re passionate about, or at least feel something when writing it.

I refuse to do politics or religion talk, I’m not an erotica gal or even into romance. There are non-fictional things I can do as well as fictional. But not those mentioned, specifically. Do you have strengths when writing? What are they? Can you write for long periods at a time? Are you well-versed in a particular topic? Or do you just love the odd rant and rave?

It remains to be seen how I’ll continue writing on Vocal Media and Medium. I will continue to do the odd bit of flash fiction or short stories, poetry and the odd article talking about something I’m sure. So yes. I will write. And I will try to do it daily.

This article today was a little bit of a rant for myself to be able to write. And it’s not proven so bad. I’ve found that rambling thoughts are easy. Let’s go a little more difficult next time and I’ll try a more focused piece. If you found this rant of any use then please feel free to heart or even drop a tip! Thank you!

business
18

About the Creator

Mariam Naeem

Writer - Short Stories, Poetry

Instagram: instagram.com/mariam.naeem256

Twitter: Twitter.com/MariamNAuthor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.