Journal logo

Writers Should Be Using Vocal+

If you're still on the fence as to whether or not you should sign up for Vocal+, then here's the reason you should jump down from there and join us

By Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr BurnsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2021
119
Writers Should Be Using Vocal+
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I very much doubt that I am the only writer this side of the universe or any other side for that matter that struggles to stay focused. A creative mind is a wonderful and beautiful thing but it has a tendency to buzz and run from one creative project to another. For the longest time I struggled to stay focused on any one writing project and even harder to stay motivated when I did. Writing like any other craft takes practise.

I have tried a variety of techniques to keep me focused on the written path but it never worked. Don't believe me?

List of tried, tested and abandoned methods to 'improve' written focus:

  1. Write according to a strict schedule
  2. Always write in the same carefully prepared space
  3. Write in different and diverse spaces
  4. Set a word count goal for every day/week/month
  5. Organise a writing routine, start with a cup of coffee and a prayer to St Jude
  6. Set an alarm when you write and refuse to stop writing until that alarm bell dings

None of this worked. I was beginning to give up hope that I would ever find something that worked for me, that would keep me writing even when life took over, and then I found Vocal.

During Lockdown the first, like many, I was spending more time than I should have been scrolling through Facebook and as I did, I came across an add for Vocal. It was asking me if I wanted to make money writing with Vocal by entering their latest challenge? Of course I did. I love to write and why wouldn't I want to make some bank from it? I don't normally pay for subscriptions right away but in order to submit to the challenge I had to be a Vocal+ member. I really wanted an excuse to write something and the lure of a pretty penny in the form of prize money called to me. So I paid up for the subscription, wrote my piece, submitted it and hoped for the best. I figured if I didn't win anything I would just cancel my subscription when the first month was up, No harm no foul.

I did not win.

Okay I'll admit, I was a little disappointed...alright fine...I was a lot disappointed. Creatives can often take what they perceive as rejection extremely personally and I am no exception but I had committed to at least one month of Vocal+ so I stayed with it.

Over the course of that month I found myself writing more and more. There were more challenges and I entered them and even though I still didn't nab a prize, it bothered me less and less. Before I knew it I was six months into a rolling subscription and I was writing more than I had in years.

I started entering challenges not because I wanted to win, but because it was giving me a whole new sense of motivation when it came to writing. I was enjoying myself and I finally had what I had been looking for; focus. Real and sustainable focus.

It's not about winning, it's about taking part. Being a highly competitive person, this was a concept that had for the majority of my life been lost on me, but becoming a Vocal+ member really taught me the importance of that well known statement. Every challenge I felt I could take part in, I did and when I acquainted myself with the communities within Vocal as well, like Blush, Horror, Criminal, Journal and realised that I finally had the platform that I had been looking for to write about whatever I wanted whenever I wanted I was writing more than ever. It kept me focused.

So; if like me, you are a writer that has struggled to keep your focus, trust me, try Vocal+. Enter some challenges, explore the communities and just write.

product review
119

About the Creator

Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr Burns

"I was always an unusual girl

My mother told me that I had a chameleon soul

No moral compass pointing due north

No fixed personality...

...With a fire for every experience and an obsession for freedom"

-Lana Del Ray

Ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.