Journal logo

Why writing nonsense could be a bigger issue

From writing big hits to gobbledygook

By Spencer HawkenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Why writing nonsense could be a bigger issue
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

During a period of unemployment in the early 2000’s I found myself writing online, first at review sites like Ciao and Dooyoo, then as I became bored of writing product articles, I migrated over to the sites Helium and Triond. When I moved, my finances moved, not in small ways, but enormous ones. My writing over on the review websites earned me $40- $80 a month, whereas over on the other sites I was earning $2000-£4000 a month easily. Now before you hit Google I need to point out that all of these sites have gone, all changed their format, others just came to a close, we’ll that’s what they told me!

Having grown comfortable with my income and just prior to them all dying in one form or another. I discovered that my writing was going downhill, my articles were often filled with grammatical errors (as no doubt is this one), sometimes my articles completely missed the point. While my following and earning never decreased I found the process really alarming, I continually judged myself, what? Why? How? I found myself in a quandry, because even though I now had a full time job, I’d grown accoustomed to the additional heavy income. But as each article grew steadily worse in terms of quality, I lacked the “want” to write, a brooding self doubt hit me.

By Thought Catalog on Unsplash

It seems really silly writing this, but my resolution to this issue was that I self diagnosed myself as having “writers block”, the flow did not work, therefore the problem was that I had didn’t have good ideas anymore, I was continuously regurgitating the same topic or variations of a topic (check out my feed on this site). As for the spelling or other grammatical errors, I put it down to due lack of attention, because I’d lost my way. While I had resigned myself to this fate, something inside never quite “read right”. As a result when all those sites closed and I lost all those articles (which I should have saved and modernised at a later date), of which there were thousands, I condemned myself to a life of non-writing, even though other than the fact the financials were good, it was actually one thing that really bought me joy.

It was three years later in my new job, that my employers and I had noted a decline in my writing skill. This fact was also multiplied because I had developed a number of underlying health issues which I’d chosen to ignore. With the other issues ruining my every day life, I subjected myself to medical investigation, one of the issues I had suffered with since 1994 and with no answers through medical assistance I simply lost my trust in medical practitioners and accepted the issues. It took just four visits to a doctor, or hospital to get a clear understanding of what was happening.

The date was May 3rd 2014, it sticks in my mind because this was three days before my 41st birthday. I was informed by my doctor that I had Parkinsonisms, Coeliac Disease and Rumatoid Arthritis all on the same day. It was a sombre time but a relief also. I had answers to all my underlying health issues, but I also got the answers to the issue of my writing, both the Parkinsons and the Coeliac disease have known connections with having a slightly muddled brain, the Parkinsons for obvious reasons, but the Coeliac disease also because issues related to food can give you a dull “head fog”.

The human body is a muddled mess of things, one thing unexpectedly effects another, without seemingly having rhyme or reason, the key is addrsssing these issues, changes even small ones need investigation, I lost a library of writing and an opportunity to really spurt my income based on the fact that I had put 2+2 together and made 5. When if I had investigated sooner some of my issues may not have advanced as much.

It’s taken 7 years to put text back to computer to begin my writing career again and in my two months back I’m already reaping benefits both mentally and financially. Even if I still occasionally go off course and write gobbledygook or make horrendous spelling errors.

Never go to bed without getting a strange issues you may be having health wise, even if it does not feel connected to health. So many things lead to others and if you’ve stumbled upon this because of similar issues, hopefully it inspires you to get checked out.

literature
3

About the Creator

Spencer Hawken

I'm a fiftysomething guy with a passion for films, travel and gluten free food. I work in property management, have a history in television presentation and am a multi award wining filmmaker, even though my films are/were all trash.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.