Journal logo

Why Take a Break from Writing?

And How it Can Help You

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 months ago 4 min read
1
Why Take a Break from Writing?
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I know, I know, it’s a touchy topic for our community, but hear me out before you click the exit button or back arrow.

Here’s the question: has there ever been a time when you had no ambition or new ideas to put into story form? Or when you had a bad case of writer’s block?

If your answer is no, we all know you’re lying.

But I’m here to tell you it’s okay. We can’t be in writer mode 24/7. It’s impossible.

Learning when to step back is a vital tool we all need to use to be the best writers we can be.

Reasons to Take a Break From Writing

Photo by Jarek Ceborski on Unsplash

While we as writers like to procrastinate and come up with excuses not to write, there are a few instances when it’s okay or encouraged.

After all, writing while dealing with any of these things is like climbing a steep mountain without water if your brain and heart are not in it.

Writer’s Block

We all have moments when we’re trying to write, yet nothing flows from our minds and onto the page. And it can be frustrating as hell.

Being Sick

Whenever we get sick, for the most part, all we wanna do is curl up in a blanket and rest. And despite what our brain may be telling us, that’s okay.

Mental Burnout

For whatever reason, most of us have suffered from mild to extreme burnout at least once. And while writing probably isn’t the cause, it’s still a good idea to pause the activity while recovering.

My First Writing Break

Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

At least a year ago, I was going through a bit of a creative dry spell and an overall more depressed state, which has become somewhat normal for me, and I couldn’t focus enough to produce an idea.

Usually, when I’m stuck on one story, I jump to another, but that wasn’t helping me either. I just could not focus long enough. And I can’t fake anything, which I consider a perk regarding personal and writing qualities.

In addition, I’d been somewhat burned out and down for reasons unrelated to my writing, which decreased my creativity and motivation.

So, I decided to take a couple of weeks off from writing and focus on my editing jobs and myself.

At first, I felt guilty for not attempting to write a few sentences down. I mean, I try to write daily if possible. It helps me be consistent and not procrastinate, something that I tend to do.

However, I realized that forcing myself to write when my mind didn’t want to focus only frustrated me, which wasn’t helping. So, I let it go and did other things.

What I Thought About It Afterward

I have to say; it was nice not worrying about how much I was writing or whether a story was ready to be published. Or if the word count was high enough. Or what writing challenges I could enter.

It was also nice to focus on my business and look for editing gigs, which had been progressing steadily for the most part. I got to work on a few pieces, including a holiday-themed short story with a twist on Pride and Prejudice, which I found interesting.

And I’d been thinking about my book series since I still have not published the third book on Amazon. I hadn’t done much with it at that point, but it was better than nothing.

Plus, I got to relax and read insightful books and articles ranging in topics. Not to mention binging Star Trek: Voyager on Netflix before it left, hehehe.

Although it took time for my full writing mojo to return, the break kept me from completely burning out from writing, which would have been a tragic event.

So, How Can Taking a Short Break from Writing Help You?

Photo by Frank Leuderalbert on Unsplash

I can’t speak for anyone except myself, but sometimes you have to prioritize your energy.

It’s okay to step back and recharge your mental batteries, and if that includes not writing, don’t punish yourself. You have to take care of yourself first.

What To Do Instead

However, I wouldn’t recommend doing nothing, either. That won’t help you feel better. Trust me, I know. I’ve been there, done that, and if anything, I felt worse.

Go on walks, clean your home, visit with friends, do self-care, or learn something new.

This way, you’re not stuck and overthinking, which can lead to unpleasant places while still using and resting your mind. Plus, it’s fun trying out new things.

And when you’re ready to return to your document or journal, you might have some new ideas to jot down. I feel like that’s a good trade-off.

So, if you need to, please take a writing break. It will be waiting for you when you return. ;)

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

advice
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.