Journal logo

Why I decided to take a Screen off day and why Should too

Screen Off Day

By Kushal SharmaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

First, let me tell you something, Mobile Phone is the most important thing currently in my days, and I can not think of a day without it, not because I want it but because I need to. Headphones also become more important with a phone. If I talk about the numbers, I watch the phone for almost 15 Hours a day. So, you might be thinking that if it is so important for you then why did you decide to take a Screen off day? 

Let me tell you.

It all Starts at 5:00 am

Before you thought of me as a freak, for using the phone he wakes up at 5 am, no, no … let me clear it. I am a student who recently cleared my high school science side and now preparing for college. I want to take a seat in a medical College, so I need to clear an exam named NEET. By getting good marks in that exam I can take a seat in a government medical College. But, neet paper is not that easy, also no. of The seats are very low. If we talk about the numbers, every year 18lakh+ students appear for this exam and only 30 thousand to 40 thousand get a seat in a good college. So, to get a seat, I need to score a lot of good marks.

I wake up early to study, I turn on my phone and start to see lectures of teachers online, till 9 am.

After that, I take a break and complete my extra work like bathing, breakfast and more. At 10 am I started again with my phone. Do some questions, revisions and other study-related things from my mobile phone till 1:00 pm.

Long break but, not from the screen

At 1 pm I finish off my study and take a break of almost half an hour, in which ate my lunch with watching TV. Then I make some posts on Reddit, quora. Write some posts on vocal, this all takes time till 4 pm then again time for study.

At 4:30 I Start to study again till 8:00 pm then I have a bath, and eat dinner. At 9:00 pm again I took my phone and starts watching videos on YouTube, writing some posts, and more, till 11 pm. 11 pm is the sleeping time.

So, let's calculate how much time I am spending in front of the screen while doing different things.

  • First, from 5 am to 9 am - 4 hourour
  • 10 am to 1pm - 3 hours
  1. 2. 10 am to 1 pm - 3 hours

3. 1 pm to 4 pm - 3 h1ours

4. 4 pm to 8 pm - 4 hou rs

5. 9 pm - 11 pm - 2 hours

Total - 16 hours spent in front of the screen. Ridiculous.

All day I am in front of a screen, whether it is a screen of a TV or a screen of a phone. Hardly a day went in which I didn't use my phone or my phone usage decreased.

So why did I decide to take a screen-off day?

As we already calculated, I am spending 16 hours in front of the screen, and that could lead to some severe symptoms, which are starting to show in me.

While following this routine I notice a lot of pain in my eyes, and head throughout the whole day and am not able to sleep properly. While watching lectures in an online class, I often notice a blurred view sometimes for one or two seconds. I got concerned about these things, so I saw some tips on YouTube for curing these symptoms.

Also, read some articles on it, from which I got the idea of the screen of the day every Sunday. 

Why Sunday?

Sunday is the fun day. Sorry… Just Joking

On weekdays I cannot skip online classes as it will create a very big backlog and burden on me.

On Sunday I only On read my handwritten notes, revise previous things, also, play cricket.

With this, I also try to use less phone, as much as possible.

As I follow these, I am also able to counter the symptoms, which I reported to you up.

I will also suggest you use less phone as much as possible and be happy.

Thanks if you read this so far.

advicequotes
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.