Journal logo

Why I Choose Vocal

I have been here for about 2 months now and don't see myself leaving

By Crissy CornwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
Why I Choose Vocal
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When I was looking for a writing platform, I didn't know what would be the best for me since I only ever have written on a poetry site before and the rest of my writing was for myself. One day, I found Vocal, and I think I found it through an ad on Facebook, but I now don't remember. As I am about to hit my 15th story on this platform, I am thinking about how much I still love this platform. When I started on Vocal, it said that you could make extra money from reads, which I thought was cool and also one reason why I did choose Vocal, and I will admit that I have gotten to cash out once so far, but I quickly realized that making extra cash for reads wasn't as quick or easy as anticipated, and that is mostly because, as I have said for a lot of other things, my friends suck! I say this with all the love in my heart, but they truly suck! I share my stories on my social media pages, and I even encourage them to share my stories as well, not just read them but that never happens. In fact, the majority of my reads came from my fellow Vocal creators and I am so grateful! I try to read as many stories as I can and will continue to do so to support all you lovely people.

Anyway, my favorite things about Vocal, why I choose it, and why I will recommend it to everyone who wants to write.

1) Vocal lets me express myself through written word. Things that I never really thought I would share with others have just poured out of me into my writing on here and I feel so much lighter every time I write something.

2) There are so many options for groups to write in. Just the description of some of the communities inspire me to write.

3) There are so many tools and resources for writers! Having so many resources has helped my writing and has definitely made me more serious about the writing that I do.

5) Goals! Vocal gives me goals, whether that is a certain number of stories to write or a certain number of reads I want to get, I have goals that I am working hard to get to.

6) I love reading as much as writing. Having an unlimited amount of content to read is a great feeling because I love to read, so I can go through all the communities and read a bunch of stories and still have more to consume!

7) I feel safe sharing. Vocal creates a safe space for writers to share their stories, no matter how personal, open and raw, which makes it such a great platform!

8) Vocal accepts stories fairly quickly. I have never had a story go longer than 24 hours without being accepted (or denied so I can edit and resubmit). I love how quickly I can submit my stories.

9) I get to submit multiple stories. It doesn't seem to matter how many stories I submit at one time, they just get submitted and accepted.

10) Vocal understands that we are adults. If we choose to use some stronger language, they get that we are adults and we may choose to use that language in our stories, and I also appreciate that if stronger language is used, it is not used through the entire story.

Thank you Vocal, for creating such an amazing space for us to write and express ourselves. Now, if any of you have any tips to get more reads outside of continuously sharing my stories to get more reads, they would be greatly appreciated. Maybe I just need to be more charismatic and grow my following on social media to people that I don't personally know, or maybe I will drill it in their heads that I need them to share as well. I actually am a very bubbly person, but I also struggle with depression and anxiety, so trying to go live and create videos for social media makes me want to hide under the covers and never come out again.

As always, though this is the first time stated, tips are not required, but they are greatly appreciated. I would love to give people tips as well, but being a single mom who works full time, I live paycheck to paycheck, but the second I have any "extra" cash, I will be tipping people left and right on here!

product review
4

About the Creator

Crissy Cornwell

Single mom, writer, singer, cat lady

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.